SCOTT SHANNON AND THE TOP 40 ALL-TIME SUMMER FAVORITES FROM FORGOTTEN HITS!

June 21, 2010

HEAR YOUR ALL-TIME TOP 40 SUMMER FAVORITES on the radio! All day today, SCOTT SHANNON will be featuring selections from YOUR ALL-TIME TOP 40 SUMMER FAVORITES on The True Oldies Channel … you can “Listen Live” here: 94.7 WLS-FM

I wanted to do a blog about summer, but I didn’t have any ideas, until I read the blog today from Kent Kotal and FORGOTTEN HITS. The readers of this ’60s and ’70s music forum voted on the TOP 40 ALL –TIME SUMMER FAVORITES!

I was not only impressed with the final list, but also how it was arrived at. Kent questioned, “What if you asked the REAL oldies fans out there … the ones who have seen their share of summers over the years … they’ve seen the various trends come and go … I just couldn’t help but wonder what songs best evoke the Spirit of Summer in the eyes and ears of The REAL Oldies Fans? (Of course, I suppose I could have simply listed MY All-Time Summer Favorites … but to me, that approach always seems to take on a “I Know Music and You Don’t” connotation … or, as I like to call it, the “Jann Wenner Philosophy of Music”!)

So, instead … in 2001, we polled our readers … and received about 400 responses … hardly an overwhelming or decisive amount (but you have to remember that we did have a much smaller circulation then … and we were also polling a pretty selective audience.)

In 2006, we decided to ask our readers again to vote for their All-Time Summer Favorites. This time about 2100 people responded … yet the majority of The Top Ten remained the same. Hmmm … maybe a trend was beginning to develop here … maybe these really ARE the All-Time Summer Favorites.

Just to be sure, we asked our readers AGAIN in 2010 … and this time we received about 9200 votes!!! And guess what … the SAME song that came in at #1 in 2001 … and ALSO came in at #1 in 2006 … came in at #1 AGAIN in 2010!!! And by an increasingly larger margin each time. (Enough so to officially proclaim this year’s victory a LANDSLIDE!)

That’s good enough for me!!! I believe that we can unequivocally state FOR THE RECORD that the list you are about to review is, WITHOUT QUESTION, representative of The All-Time Favorite Songs Of Summer as determined by The Oldies Nation. (See if you agree!)”


1. SUMMER IN THE CITY – The Lovin’ Spoonful (#1 each and every time we’ve run this poll … and by a LANDSLIDE this year too!)

2. A SUMMER SONG – Chad and Jeremy

3. HOT FUN IN THE SUMMERTIME – Sly and the Family Stone (These two tracks have ALWAYS finished near the top of the list … but this is the first time they’ve flip-flopped their ranking!)

4. ALL SUMMER LONG – The Beach Boys (The Beach Boys have placed in The Top Ten every time we’ve done the poll … yet it’s been a different song each time that earned this honor.

5. IN THE SUMMERTIME – Mungo Jerry
(Just try not to sing along with THIS one … I dare ya!)

6. THEME FROM “A SUMMER PLACE” – Percy Faith
(A Summer Favorite … and an Instrumental Favorite … the vocal version by

7. SUMMERTIME – Billy Stewart (A popular song, “Summertime” was nominated by everybody from Billy Stewart to Janis Joplin to Billie Holiday to American Idol Winner Fantasia Barrino!)

8. SUMMERTIME BLUES – Eddie Cochran (Likewise, this one earned votes for Eddie Cochran, The Who and Blue Cheer,all of whom recorded successful versions of this summertime classic!)

9. CALIFORNIA GIRLS – The Beach Boys

10. SUMMERTIME, SUMMERTIME – The Jamies

11. I GET AROUND – The Beach Boys

12. HERE COMES SUMMER – Jerry Keller

13. CALIFORNIA SUN – The Rivieras

14. SURFIN’ USA – The Beach Boys

15. DANCING IN THE STREET – Martha and the Vandellas

16. SEALED WITH A KISS – Brian Hyland

17. FUN FUN FUN – The Beach Boys (Is there a better summer song that this one??? And it was released in FEBRUARY!!!

18. SCHOOL’S OUT – Alice Cooper   

19. SATISFACTION – The Rolling Stones

20. WONDERFUL SUMMER – Robin Ward

(A #1 Record here in Chicago!)

Now Artie Wayne cleverly slips in a plug. I wasn’t going to let this golden oldie opportunity to go by and not mention that I have a connection to 15 out of the first TOP 20 records listed.

I gave up some precious mastering time at Bellsound in N.Y.to my friend Artie Ripp so he could master “Summer in the City”!

My partner Kelli Ross and I ran Leslie Gore’s publishing companies which included “California Nights”.

Kelli and I also represented the publishing companies of Peter Udell and Gary Geld “Sealed with a Kiss”.

I helped get my pal from the past Alice Cooper (“School’s Out”) get on the first show of my former manager, Don Kirshner’s “In Concert” series on ABC.

When I was General Mgr. of Warner Brothers Music we ran Sly Stone’s publishing company which included “Hot Fun in the Summertime”! We also published Gershwin’s “Summertime”, Eddie Cochran’s “Summertime Blues”, and “Theme from a Summer Place”.

I sang with Jerry Keller (“Here Comes Summer”) and Ron Dante (“Sugar, Sugar”) as the Duprees for one record.

When I was running Irving – Almo music, I represented Mungo Jerry’s “In The Summerrtime”, and five Brian Wilson songs in the first TOP 20, “All Summer Long”, “California Girls”, “I Get Around”, “Surfin’ USA”, and “Fun, Fun, Fun”.

FOR THE COMPLETE LIST FORGOTTEN HITS OF THE TOP 40 ALL-TIME SUMMER FAVORITES Click here: Forgotten Hits

To reach Scott Shannon  http://scottshannon.com

Copyright 2010 by Artie Wayne http://artiewayne.wordpress.com/about-artie-wayne/

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB http://artiewayne.wordpress.com

8 Responses to “SCOTT SHANNON AND THE TOP 40 ALL-TIME SUMMER FAVORITES FROM FORGOTTEN HITS!”

  1. Arthur Resnick Says:

    What’s “Under The Boardwalk” chopped liver?

  2. John Harrold Says:

    Summer – War

    Spill The Wine – Eric Burdon and War

    Low Rider – War

    All Day Music – War

    I think just about anything by War

  3. Stephanie Says:

    Nice Blog I enjoyed reading this.
    Stephanie

  4. Ira Howard Says:

    And don’t forget Sophie Tucker’s “Summa These Days.”

  5. Art Munson Says:

    SUMMERTIME BLUES – Eddie Cochran

    Love that record!

  6. Hazy Dave Says:

    Theme From A Summer Place – “…the vocal version by The Lettermen also earned quite a few of your votes … but not enough to make the list.”

    (The Percy Faith version has some crazy French Horn playing on it. Love it!)

    I think I finally saw this movie on cable a few years ago (unless I’m confusing it with “Summer of ’42”). I definitely need to watch more films from the forties through the early sixties on Netflix…


  7. As a child I vividly recall “Chapel of Love” and “Take Good Care of My Baby.” Scott, what wonderful work you do, including your great intros for Sean Hannity. Keep it up!
    Patti


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

