ELIZABETH TAYLOR R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY!

March 23, 2011

In 1974, when I was running Irving-Almo music, I lent one of our writers Randy Edleman out to score the first US-USSR film collaboration “The Bluebird”. Although it was a landmark event what made it memorable for me was meeting its star Elizabeth Taylor.

I was backstage at a Blood, Sweat, and Tears concert saying hello to my old high school classmate Freddie Lipsius who played sax with the group, when I was introduced to miss Taylor. It seems that they all spent some time together in the Soviet Union while the group was touring and she was filming “Bluebird”.

She smiled at me being a bit flustered and reverting to my childhood stammer as I stared into her legendary violet eyes. I gave up on trying to say, “I-I-I-I’m p-p-pleased to meet you “, and just smiled back.

It isn’t everyday you meet a legend, but when you do, you know you’re gonna’ remember it for the rest of your life Thank you for sharing your talent and your life with the world!

Ms. Taylor, May you ROCK IN PERPETUITY!

Respectfully, Artie Wayne

Here is the song “I Love You, Elizabeth” that Michael Jackson wrote for his longtime friend and performed at her 65th birthday celebration!

Here’s an excellent blog on Ms. Taylor by Sally Stevens “MY LIFE IN A DAY”  http://rockphiles.typepad.com/a_life_in_the_day/2011/03/goodbye-mrs-burton-.html

Copyright 2011 by Artie Wayne http://artiewayne.wordpress.com/about-artie-wayne/

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB! http://artiewayne.wordpress.com

4 Responses to “ELIZABETH TAYLOR R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY!”

  1. Jerry Ross Says:

    ARTIE:

    What a wonderful tribute from your archives.
    It is more than touching…It is the poetry of his
    soul and true friendship and love for Elizabeth.
    It is so dimensional I feel it every time I watch this memorable moment.

    your ol’ friend
    Jerry Ross

  2. Laura Says:

    Hi Artie,

    How fortunate you were to have met the beautiful Elizabeth Taylor. (Those violet eyes of hers alone would have set me to stammering and forgetting my own name if I’d ever been so blessed.) Thanks for posting this video, which I’d never seen before. What a wonderful tribute to both Elizabeth and Michael. It’s difficult to believe that both are gone now, but at least they are now together and dispensing their particular brands of magic on The Other Side.

    Thanks for all of your great posts!

    Laura

  3. Stella Says:

    Thanks for such a lovely article on Liz. Such a beautiful and dynamic woman. The world is a sadder place without her.


  4. Artie,

    I thoroughly enjoyed your account of your meeting with Elizabeth. I traveled with her and saw many a dignitary and fan stammer alike. I came to know a different Elizabeth than the legend. While I have much to write about her in the future and will, I paid tribute to her passing in a different way; please take a look: “Elizabeth Taylor’s Nine Lives” @ http://sonofthecucumberking.blogspot.com/2011/03/elizabeth-taylors-nine-lives.html

    My best to you –

    Ray


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

