MY EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH DOCTOR ALBERT LAI ON STEM CELLS AND PRP

April 13, 2012

My whole life I’ve struggled with scoliosis (A severe curvature of the spine) I’m no longer able to walk or use my hands, except for one finger, which I use to type. For the last nine months since I’ve been treated with PRP by Dr. Albert Lai, head of the Pain Management Center in Rancho Mirage, Ca. Since I started PRP injections (which I mistakenly identified in previous articles as “STEM CELL THERAPY”) some miraculous things have been happening  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HEnFaF4qPL8

 

Artie:  The biggest question that comes up is how I was so confused between cell stem therapy and PRP.  Now, if I’m correct, they both use stem cells, and what I thought we were going to be doing was something with adult stem cells, but it turns out, uh, that PRP is what really helped me. Please Doctor can you tell me the difference.

Dr Lai:  Sure.  The stem cells we are actually using come primarily from out of the bone marrow.  That’s where the high proportion of stem cells comes from. They’ve been harvesting it from fat, too…and of course from the blood.

Artie:  Right.

Dr. Lai:  But the proportions of the stem cells are different depending on what tissue it comes out of. stem cells are used to treat pretty much any damaged tissue.  Because what it is doing, stem cells are a precursor to the different types of tissue in your body. So, if you put it in a certain spot, whatever tissue that may be – bone, muscle, tendon – it will regenerate into that tissue. That’s the power of stem cells.

Artie: What can you tell us about PRP. What do the initials stand for?

Dr. Lai:  Platelet rich plasma. So PRP, in that sense, is not really stem cells.  It’s primarily platelets that we are after.  Ok.  So, in platelets, contain a lot of chemical compounds that start a lot of processes in your body.  But primarily the platelets contain growth factors which promote the growth of cells, including stem cells, into different parts of your body into what tissue we want them to become.

Artie:  I see.  I remember the first time that you performed a PRP procedure on me, you took blood from my arm, put it a centrifugal force machine, separated the good from the bad parts, and injected it into my hip.…

Dr. Lai:  Correct.

Artie:  Where my problem was.

Dr. Lai:  Right.

Artie:  Then amazing things started happened with me. I discovered that physical manipulation of my neck, legs, hands, and hip while dance music plays helps the PRP work to recalibrate the body.

Dr. Lai:  Exactly.

Artie:  And if I didn’t have that video of me, dancing in my wheelchair, no one would believe it.

Dr. Lai:  (smiles) Kobe Bryant has been doing PRP and he’s touted it in a lot of the interviews that he has done.  But he’s not doing it here.  He’s actually going out of the country to get it done, but it’s the same PRP. In fact, I can name off a list of professional athletes, so Hines Ward, and Polamalu of the Pittsburgh Steelers, …they got it done during the playoff season.  And they were able to play up until the Super Bowl and won because of it.  Without PRP, they might not have been able to do that.

Artie:  Well, I’d really like another PRP shot as soon as possible. I know you “fast-tracked” it, but my insurance company denied me again.

Dr. Lai:  I know… this is some of the issues we have with PRP currently.  Currently, PRP is recognized as a form of treatment but it is not embraced. We have had study after study, cases after cases, where it makes dramatic results, it produces these effects and people do very well with it.  Much better than the traditional treatments that we have today… I’m a firm believer in it!

(At that moment, Dr. Lai’s assistant Chiyoko, walks in and reminds him that he’s got a patient waiting next door, but before he leaves he leans over to me and says)

Dr. Lai: Don’t Worry, if  your insurance doesn’t approve your life saving treatment this time…I’ll personally guarantee it!

Artie : wow…I never heard a doctor say that before!

(to be continued)

I STILL NEED YOUR HELP WITH YOUR FAXES, CALLS AND CARDS TO SAVE MY LIFE !!!

I REFUSE TO SIT QUIETLY WHILE A “DEATH PANEL” DECIDES MY FATE SO ONCE AGAIN I’M ASKING MY FACEBOOK FRIENDS AND MY DEVOTED READERS TO CALL (760) 770-8878 X 6319, FAX (760) 770-8686, OR WRITE  DR. STEVEN DORFMAN, THE UTILIZATION MANAGEMENT MEDICAL DIRECTOR AT THE EMPIRE PHYSICIANS MEDICAL GROUP (A PART OF THE IRONICALLY NAMED HUMANA INSURANCE COMPANY) AT 34160 GATEWAY DRIVE, #100, PALM DESRT, CA., 92211 AND ASK HIM TO APPROVE THE PROCEDURES THAT MY FRIENDS DR. LYNNE MESSNER AND DR. ALBERT LAI HAVE BEEN TRYING SO HARD TO GET WAYNE KENT A/K/A ARTIE WAYNE.

ARTIE WAYNE A/K/A WAYNE KENT 

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB http://artiewayne.wordpress.com/

6 Responses to “MY EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH DOCTOR ALBERT LAI ON STEM CELLS AND PRP”

  1. Sunny Monday Says:

    Dear Artie,

    I am so glad that you had a moment of clarity with Dr. Lai. I know that he was sent to you for reason. Stay focussed and get ready for the Dance.

    Love,

    Sunny

  2. Patti Says:

    There is so much disallowed which could help, and so much allowed that harms. When will we learn to get the government out of personal decisions? I am so happy you will have what you need to feel better and function more effectively. I love you and the world needs you at your best.
    Patti

  3. Mona Essen Says:

    Knowing you — you’ll be playing for the Pittaburgh Steelers next year! (Hines Ward has retired & they need another great receiver.)

  4. Robin Munson Says:

    You GO Artie! (Just a quick aside — the difficulty here is not government interference. It’s the private insurer. Don’t know if the government would do better — but it couldn’t do worse!) Dr. Lai sounds amazing!


  5. What a great story! Dr. Lai rocks. So many doctors lack bedside manners these days and become detached from the suffering they say day in and day out with their endless parade of patients. When I read that he personally guaranteed your shots, despite the insurance outcome, I had one of those moments where you find yourself talking back to your TV, only I was talking to my computer and yelled, ” Right On!” with a fist pump. Letter to your insurance agents and one to Dr. Lai thanking him for his demonstration of compassion and generosity are on the way..

  6. Steve Owen Says:

    I agree that Dr, Lai rocks! Thanks for the informitive article on PRP
    and lets keep it going, Artie, and Dr. Lai!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

