MANDI MARTIN…IN TRANSITION

April 29, 2012

When I moved to LA in 1970, to work as a songplugger for VIVA Music, my new songwriter friend Alan O’Day (“THE DRUM”) took me to a weekly meeting of the LA SONGWRITERS SHOWCASE, where I met Mandi Martin and John Brahaney for the first time.

I was impressed by the loving support system they built for new and seasoned songwriters to shield themselves from the harsh reality of the music business, while they developed their craft. Over the years Mandy and John, helped me out whenever I needed it, from showcasing my writers at Warner Brothers and Irving/Almo music to finding me new writers when I went into business for myself.

Last week, I was saddened when my long time friend Alan O’Day (“UNDERCOVER ANGEL”, “ANGIE BABY”) e-mailed me that Mandi Martin is facing some serious health issues and is in transition.

Alan writes, “I am keeping a private vigil for my critically ill friend Mandi Martin. At this moment she is surrounded by friends at her home who are giving her love and prayers and laughter. She has lost the ability to talk, but she can hear the marathon party going on around her.

What an extraordinary send off! See Mandi’s Prayhouse: https://www.facebook.com/groups/327053187358718/  Please say a prayer for this lovely person who has helped so many.”

Here is her website  http://mandimartinmusic.com/

IF YOU WANT TO SEND A MESSAGE TO MANDI PLEASE WRITE IT IN THE COMMENTS SECTION AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS ARTICLE AND I’LL SEE THAT SHE GETS IT.

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB  http://artiewayne.wordpress.com

2 Responses to “MANDI MARTIN…IN TRANSITION”

  1. Alan Says:

    Artie, I’m glad you are spreading the word about this remarkable bonding of friends who have Mandi in common. Her situation is tragically sad, but out of that has sprung a powerful community of love, celebrating her life with music & togetherness. I’ve never experienced anything like the group energy of the visitors “partying” & paying their respects at her home several days ago, and last I heard it was still going on; with some people returning time & time again, bringing groceries, snacks, & music to the Mecca of Mandi. If she does pass, which seems inevitable, it will be within the atmosphere she always loved. How perfectly appropriate this seems, compared to only honoring someone AFTER their departure. May God continue to bless you, Mandi, as you have blessed all of us.
    Alan O’Day

    • brooks arthur Says:

      Dear Mandi: I am thinking of you and praying for you. You are always in my heart.
      Love,
      Brooks Arthur


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

