STEVE PAUL R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY!

October 27, 2012

WHEN I WAS LIVING IN NEW YORK IN THE SIXTIES, ON 53rd STREET AND EIGHTH AVENUE THE SCENE WAS MY NEIGHBORHOOD BAR. STEVE PAUL WAS THE OWNER AND WHAT I CALL A “SUPREME ENABLER”, WHO ENABLED ME TO SEE, MEET, AND BECOME FRIENDLY WITH SOME OF THE GREATEST MUSICAL INFLUENCES OF OUR GENERATION! 

ON MANY A SLOW NIGHT I’D SIT AND WATCH JIMI HENDRIX WORK OUT SOME NEW MATERIAL ON HIS ELECTRIC GUITAR INCLUDING, “JOHNNY B. GOODE”, AND WHEN IT WAS SRO STEVE PAUL WOULD ALWAYS LET ME IN AND NEVER STOPPED ME FROM HANDING OUT DEMOS OF MY SONGS IN UNMARKED BROWN ENVELOPES…AS LONG AS I WAS COOL ABOUT IT!

ON HIS PASSING THE NY TIMES WROTE…

“(When you went to the SCENE) you first encountered Teddy, the sharkskin-suited maître d’hôtel, on the sidewalk. If you got past him, Steve Paul was at the door to insult you.

The insult, usually devilishly clever, was the cover charge to one of New York City’s hottest, most intriguing clubs in the 1960s. It was called the Scene, and it was the brainchild of the dashing, idiosyncratic Mr. Paul, who was 23 when he opened it in 1964. It became famous for brilliant moments in the history of rock music, as the place where Jimi Hendrix and the Doors shaped the music of the ’60s in inspired jam sessions.

Mr. Paul, who went on to manage Johnny Winter and other rock stars and record them for his own label, died at 71 on Sunday at a hospital in Queens. His friend Tariq Abdus-Sabur said the cause was not yet known. “-[NY Times]

**************************************

Don Oriollo Cartoonist( FELIX THE CAT) “wow…I didn’t realize Steve died…I remember the scene well…I remember buster poindexter was on the show, and steve wanted a drawing of Poindexter on the bass drum….steve was a bigger than life guy…everyone hung out at his club on 8th ave…which at the time was still called hell’s kitchen…you brought back memories with this, Artie.”

****************************************

Chuck Negron recalls, “Steve Paul was the first man to book THREE DOG NIGHT in New York at the world famous THE SCENE we played with THE FLYING BURRITOS BROS! What a bill!” 

How can I say what Steve Paul meant to me…I wus his little girl I went to the the other clubs wif him to get the new bands from the UK to play at the THE SCENE! Steve and I were friends when he 1 st brought Johnny Winter to NY  I lived at the house Steve rented and really got to to know Johnny and Co! I really think Steve did a great job with Johnnie seeing that I recording so many years priors.

I am personally,,crushed and bruised by the the the death of me me Ol Gay mate, THE ONE AND ONLY STEVE PAUL-WHO HAD THE BOLLOCKS TO DO DO IT WHILE NOBODY  COULD ! I’m in shock you’re gone!
Your  Little Girl, CHELSEA LEE (CAKE) Xxxxx

Howie Kaylen (THE TURTLES) says,”Steve was a mensch and helped us a lot on the way up. Always loved that guy. Balls of steel!” 

From Carol “Cookie” Tandy. “Artie, just saw your note about Steve Paul … so sad … he made a great club for girls to go to like Cleo and I.. I WILL NEVER FORGET THE MANY GROUPS WE MET AND HAD A GREAT TIME WITH!!!

 

STEVE PAUL THANKS FOR ALL YOU’VE DONE FOR SO MANY PEOPLE…MAY YOU ROCK IN PERPETUITY!

RESPECTFULLY, ARTIE WAYNE

Copyright 2012 by Artie Wayne

WHILE FIGHTING LARGE CORPORATIONS WHO ARE TRYING TO KEEP ROYALTIES AWAY ME AND THOUSANDS OF OTHER ARTISTS, SONGWRITERS AND PUBLISHERSMY ONLY SOURCE OF INCOME IS FROM THE SALE OF MY BOOK. ” I DID IT FOR A SONG”, WITH OVER 100 STORIES FROM THE MUSIC BUSINESS OF THE ’60s, ’70s, and ’80s. I HOPE YOU’LL CONSIDER BUYING ONE DIRECTLY FROM ME THROUGH PAYPAL FOR ONLY $9.99 AT  artiewayne@gmail.com OR BY CHECK TO…ARTIE WAYNE  P.O. BOX 1105, DESERT HOT SPRINGS, CALIFORNIA 92240

THANKS AND REGARDS, ARTIE WAYNE http://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/celebrating-two-million-views-today-on-artie-wayne-on-the-web/

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB http://artiewayne.wordpress.com

6 Responses to “STEVE PAUL R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY!”

  1. El F. Says:

    Without a doubt the best place in NYC (or anywhere else) at the time. We stopped in there nearly every night for years on the way home from wherever else we were. Anyone who played music played there. Some of the best spontaneous jams in music history took place at the Scene. The club was wall to wall music people (and the usual cast of hilarious mob wannabes). If those walls could talk…!!! RIP Teddy and Steve.

  2. Seth Greenky Says:

    I was about 10 years too young, and living in the suburbs with my parents, when this place was happening. I didn’t know it was only a block away from a place I would eventually work for several years, Bell Sound Studios (237 West 54th Street, the building was torn down only this past year). I used to look out my office window on the 2nd floor and see Club 54. But, even as a pre-teen, I’d heard about “The Scene.” It sounded so exotic to me. My condolences to Steve’s friends and family.

    • El F. Says:

      Seth – My very first job in Manhattan was in the tape library at Bell Sound! Got a job at Mercury Records not long after.

  3. Steve Haynes Says:

    I was a twenty year old struggling artist in Berkeley in 1969 living as a boarder in the Country Joe and the Fish house. I met Steve Paul at a party on a spring night at the house over a pool game. He was introduced to me by Barry Melton, the Fish’s lead guitarist. When Steve Paul asked Barry what I did he replied kindly, “He’s a designer”. Steve Paul had just recently signed Johnny and Edgar Winter to the largest recording contract at that time and had been featured in Rolling Stone. He sent me a telegram two weeks later and hired me and my two roommates to fly immediately to New York and spend the summer re-designing the entire club on 8th Ave and 46th St named “The Scene”. He had Teddy pick us up at La Guardia and take us down to our furnished flat on 10th St near 2nd Ave in the East Village. That weekend there was a benefit at the Fillmore East to raise money for the project.
    The Scene had been closed down earlier that year and Steve Paul had decided that he wanted a “San Francisco-style atmospere” to keep up with times. It was a very interesting and fascinating story that unfolded over the course of that summer and I have included it in my Autobio. I had the time of my life working with Steve Paul, Teddy and Larry the accountant. Unfortunately, after working all summer and fall, the club was closed due to a jerk wanna-be gangster named “Junior”. Anyone who truly knew the Scene knows what I’m talking about. But I have Steve Paul to thank for handing myself, at just 20, the break of a lifetime. He was a special guy in my world.

    • El F. Says:

      What a great story. I always remember the Scene days as the best.
      And Junior, the aforementioned mobster wannabe. What a nightmare he was. There’s a book just in the duality of the music people v. Junior’s gang – The two sides of the scene.

      • Steve Haynes Says:

        If there’s a book about Junior’s gang vs. the people I’d love to read it. Also, if your intersted in reading the chapter in my Autobio regarding the summer of ’69 and my stay in NYC at the Scene, I’ll e-mail it to you.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

