DO WE KNOW MORE ABOUT WEREWOLVES AND VAMPIRES THAN WE DO ABOUT BLACKS AND JEWS?

January 4, 2013

TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT

Even though I’m half-Black and half-Jewish and allowed to use “Oy” and “Yo” in the same sentence, I’m the first to admit that I know very little about either culture. As a kid I knew that I could stop a vampire with a silver cross, or keep werewolves away with garlic, but I couldn’t stop the Jewish bullies in school from picking on me for insisting I was Jewish.

It seems that you’re considered a Jew only if you’re mother is, and since my father was the one to carry the blood of Abraham…I didn’t count!

The “colored” and Puerto Rican kids who were starting to dominate the formerly all-white Bronx neighborhood were more than happy to think of me as Jewish, since it gave them another reason to kick my ass. I relied upon the genes my father (who I never met) to outsmart them, and the genes of my strong African-American mother to give me the athletic prowess to outrun them.

As I grew up I never was allowed to become part of “Team David” which I name for the kid who slew Goliath in the Bible, or join “Team Martin”, I named for Martin Luther King who slew other kinds of monsters in the ‘60s. I was an only child, and stayed a loner as I examined each of the cultures I had roots in.

As a “Negro”, I was trying to assimilate into the White American culture and at first considered Jews and Blacks, who were militantly leading the fight for civil rights as troublemakers, until I realized they were fighting for me.

As their opponents were sharpening their wooden stakes, and melting down their silver and turning them into bullets, I said to myself, “Wait a second…it’s time to choose sides, and then I realized that the sides had already been chosen for me!”

I weighed fact against fiction, put fantasy aside and finally realized that I am related to all men genetically and spiritually, and I have to do whatever I can to promote a dialog between opposing factions whenever I could.

 After all Understanding begins with conversation.

SM LION

Copyright 2013 by Artie Wayne

WHILE FIGHTING LARGE CORPORATIONS WHO ARE TRYING TO KEEP ROYALTIES AWAY ME AND THOUSANDS OF OTHER ARTISTS, SONGWRITERS AND PUBLISHERSMY ONLY SOURCE OF INCOME IS FROM THE SALE OF MY BOOK. ” I DID IT FOR A SONG”, WITH OVER 100 STORIES FROM THE MUSIC BUSINESS OF THE ’60s, ’70s, and ’80s. I HOPE YOU’LL CONSIDER BUYING ONE DIRECTLY FROM ME THROUGH PAYPAL FOR ONLY $9.99 AT  artiewayne@gmail.com OR BY CHECK TO…ARTIE WAYNE  P.O. BOX 1105, DESERT HOT SPRINGS, CALIFORNIA 92240

 THANKS AND REGARDS, ARTIE WAYNE http://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/celebrating-two-million-views-today-on-artie-wayne-on-the-web/ 

Glow-in-the-Dark  “Werewolf” handpainted on a French leather jacket by Artie Wayne

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB http://artiewayne.wordpress.com

2 Responses to “DO WE KNOW MORE ABOUT WEREWOLVES AND VAMPIRES THAN WE DO ABOUT BLACKS AND JEWS?”


  1. Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions?With thanksHere is my web page; xtrasize


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

