JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR ASCENDS!

July 31, 2006

SUPERSTAR

L-R  ALLAN RINDE, ANDREW LLOYD WEBBER, DON WILLIAMS, TIM RICE, AND ARTIE WAYNE

Thirty years ago, I was general professional manager of Warner Bros. Music, living in Hollywood, when my friend Don Williams, who held a similar position at MCA msic, played me an acetate of “JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR”. I freaked out!!! My instinct told me …this was going to be a phenomenon!!! I asked Don to play it for Allan Rinde, the beloved head of Columbia records A+R dept….he was as excited as we were and proceeded to hold listening parties…that included all of the underground tastemakers of the time.

MCA RECORDS credits us with breaking the album. I hope Tim and Andy have forgiven me for trying to talk them out of writing “Evita”…..Who would go to see a show about an ex-dictators wife anyway?

YOU CAN BUY MY BOOK, “I DID IT FOR A SONG” (AVAILABLE ONLINE ONLY) FOR $9.99 BY CHECK OR MONEY ORDER TO ARTIE WAYNE P.O. BOX 1105 , DESERT HOT  SPRINGS CALIFORNIA, 92240 OR THROUGH  PAYPAL TO MY EMAIL ADDRESS artiewayne@gmail.com

Copyright 2014 by Artie Wayne

 

5 Responses to “JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR ASCENDS!”


  1. Who could have thought that ‘Phantom of the Opera’ would make a popular musical either? Oh, wait, it already has opera music. Never mind.


  2. wow. i might have known you had a hand in that classic record. when is that book coming out? i gotta pre-order!!

  3. Pirsey Says:

    I read your blog for quite a long time and must tell you that your posts always prove to be of a high value and quality for readers.


  4. Artie, your information, stories, notes …. help so much in keeping the history of Rock/Pop alive . . . Thank you Artie

  5. Seth Greenky Says:

    Artie, you must have inspired “Zelig.” I bet if I look at the Declaration of Independence closely I will find your signature. 🙂


Leave a Reply

