DENNY DOHERTY R.I.P. ROCK N PERPETUITY!

January 21, 2007

cir-mam-and-pap.jpg

left-right…Denny, Michelle, Mama Cass, John…The Mamas and Papas

DENNY DOHERTY  1/29/40 – 1/19/07

The Mamas and the Papas were more than “California Dreamin”, they were the California Dream! John Phillips, might have been the “Soul” of the group, Mama Cass and Michelle, the “Heart”…but Denny Doherty will always be the “Voice”!

In 1968, I was on a promotion tour in Hollywood as Shadow Mann, my mysterious alter ego. I went to Denny’s house in my black suede jacket with an eagle on the back and black floppy hat for a party with Graham Nash and Joni Mitchell. With all the Flower Children and colorful “Hippie” fashions, however, I did feel a bit under dressed!

Denny was a nice guy and cordial host. I remember telling him how much I enjoyed his singing while gorging my self on the delicious “brownies” they were serving! Actually, that was the last thing I remember…next thing I knew, I was in San Francisco on the next stop of my tour…without knowing how I got there!

Denny, you’re a good man, R.I.P. Rock In Perpetuity!

From my forthcoming book, “I Did It For A Song”
Copyright 2009 by Artie Wayne https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/about-artie-wayne/

BACK TO THE R.I.P. ROCK N PERPETUITY ARCHIVES https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2008/08/20/rip-rock-in-perpetuity-archives/

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB https://artiewayne.wordpress.com

One Response to “DENNY DOHERTY R.I.P. ROCK N PERPETUITY!”

  1. jayherron Says:

    Every time I hear a Mama’s and Poppa’s song I completely transcend to my days in the 60’s as a teen and can sense being in the Georgetown area of Washington DC,then a hippie haven-most certainly an area where flower children thrived.
    I was at a party here in Florida in the late 70’s and the brownies had magical ingrediants that boosted a fellow or lass in about three bites. Soon enough there were folks with half a brownie in thier hand and every dog on the site was walking sideways and I cannot recall laughing so much at the site of the poor things-one of them was mine,a small dachsund named Weasle-she was a real begger. She would sit at any table and make any one feel guilty they have’nt handed her a scrap or two. Weasle must have tagged everyone for a bit of brownie….she seemed zoned for several days-but always remained the ever pest!
    Thanks for the personal ‘obit’.


Leave a Reply

