HANK MEDRESS R.I.P. ROCK N PERPETUITY!

June 19, 2007

tokens-1.jpg

HANK MEDRESS  11/19/38 – 6/18/07

My old friend, Hank Medress”, the founder of the Tokens (”The Lion Sleeps Tonight”) and producer of ”He’s So Fine”,“Candida”, “Knock Three Times”, “Tie A Yellow Ribbon ( On The Old Oak Tree “) talks about his career, challenges and aspirations in an interview I did with him last year for Spectropop.

I’m proud to have known him for as long as I did, he was always a friend and inspiration. I’m happy I was able to give him a chance to set the record straight about some controversial aspects of his career, which he never spoke about before in print. https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2006/10/31/hank-medress-the-unsung-hero-behind-the-lion-sleeps-tonight-hes-so-fine-and-tie-a-yellow-ribbon/

Hank R.I.P.- Rock In Perpetuity!

Respectfully, your friend Artie

top photo l-r: Hank Medress, Jay Seigal, Phil and Mitch Margo…The Tokens

Copyright 2009 by Artie Wayne
https://artiewayne.wordpress.com

BACK TO THE R.I.P. ROCK N PERPETUITY ARCHIVES https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2008/08/20/rip-rock-in-perpetuity-archives/

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB https://artiewayne.wordpress.com

20 Responses to “HANK MEDRESS R.I.P. ROCK N PERPETUITY!”

  1. Tom Diehl Says:

    RIP Hank….you left us with a lot of memories. Thank you for the decades of great music. You will be missed even though your music will live on forever.

  2. NICK VILLAROSA Says:

    REST EASY HANK,YOU WILL BE SORELY MISSED.

  3. Laura Says:

    I am so sorry to hear of Hank’s passing. He was a wonderful songwriter, producer, and person. Thank you, Mr. Medress, for all the music over the years – we’ll be listening for your voice to join the chorus in Rock and Roll Heaven.

    Laura

  4. Bob Hanes Says:

    Beautiful sentiment Artie! Well said!
    Ironically, I just sent a couple of sixties record biz pals of mine your web site addy so they could access your earlier piece about Hank’s illness.
    So much will be said about Mr. Medress contribution to “our” art form, it’s all true and it’s so important to remember the real pioneers, that’s how the coming generations will “find their voices”. By learning from the “inventors how to act with integrity and courage.


  5. Dear Artie,

    I thank you for letting me know this sad news. I have passed it on to my listeners at my blog and gave them the link to your interview with Hank to read.

    Michael

  6. Brent Cash Says:

    This is sad news.I am so grateful that I had the
    chance to leave Hank my comments about some of
    the wonderful music he was involved in while it
    was still possible.What peace of mind that brings
    for me.My prayers are with his loved ones & I hope
    they have-now or eventually-peace of mind also.

    Brent

  7. joe cerisano Says:

    It saddens me to hear about Hank. Hank and Dave gave me my first real chance at a real record deal. They were two soulful cats, the perfect combination together. G-d’s speed my friend. j


  8. […] Here’s a link to another blog that has more personal information:  […]

  9. Loni Specter Says:

    Sad news. I must have sang “Lion” 500 times. RIP Hank


  10. OUR DEEPEST CONDOLENCES TO THE FAMILY AND FRIENDS OF MR. HANK MEDRESS. GOD REST HIS SOUL! HE WAS ONE OF THE PIONEERS OF IN OUR BUSINESS…AND WE ARE BETTER OFF FOR HIS GREAT CONTRIBUTION TO OUR INDUSTRY.

    VERY SINCERELY, THE CHARLIE GRACIE FAMILY

  11. Alan O'Day Says:

    God bless you, Hank. Thanks for giving us so much.

  12. steveo Says:

    this is sad news..I know Hank was fighting illness…so sorry he left the planet so soon…he will be missed.

    Steveo

  13. Ronnie Allen Says:

    I echo the thoughts expressed by everyone here in mourning his passing. My sincere condolences to everyone who knew this wonderful man and appreciated his wonderful contributions to music.

  14. Kingsley Abbott Says:

    Such sad news – my thoughts are with Hank’s family and friends. Sad, and yet in his life Hank achieved so much – so many examples of perfect pop music over his career and spread so much happiness. A legacy indeed… RIP

    Kingsley Abbott

  15. Marty Thau Says:

    Hank will be sorely missed. My condolences to his family and friends. He was a truly magnificent person. It’s a sad day indeed.

  16. John Caratelli Says:

    God bless you, Hank. Thanks for giving us wonderful music your music will live on forever. God has a music producer in heaven now. My condolences to his family and friends.

  17. Dave Rosenfeld Says:

    I only knew through his music,I will still miss him.We were 2nd cousins and he still has a nice family in brooklyn.If any of his family wants to get in touch,they can email me.

  18. don miller Says:

    A giant singer-song writer is gone. The lion will sleep in the jungle forever in the hearts of all the do woppers.. May the Lion rest in peace..


  19. […] Hank Medress R.I.P.- Rock In Perpetuity! [image] My old friend, Hank Medress”, the founder of the Tokens (”The Lion Sleeps Tonight”) and producer of […] […]

  20. Ed Given Says:

    The world is a lesser place now but I am sure that Hank is singing in an Angel choir.


Leave a Reply

