PREVIEW ALAN O’DAY’S AMAZING NEW CD!

September 15, 2008

                                                                                                                               

I’m really excited to tell you about the release of a new CD “I Hear Voices”, by my longtime friend, sometime collaborator, and fellow Spectropopper, Alan O’Day (“Undercover Angel”, “Angie Baby”, “Rock and Roll Heaven”). My first impression…is I want to hear it again!        

As relevant as the recent releases by Neil Diamond, Madonna and Brian Wilson, Alan has written, sung and produced the finest album of his career. Alan should have a few more hits added to his resume.                                                        

I worked with him at Warner Brothers Music, early in his career, when I was a song plugger. The Warner Raiders and I got hundreds, yes hundreds of covers on his highly commercial songs, which included 3 Dog Night, Steppenwolf, Bobby Sherman, Cher, Dawn, Helen Reddy, and Anne Murray. Although I knew he was immensely talented, I never expected him to develop into the writer and artist he is today.                                                                        

As contemporary as Nickleback, Coldplay, and John Mayer, I think Alan is poised to capture the imagination of a new generation. He starts off his 14 song CD, with the playful and insightful, “(Ain’t Gonna Hang Up) My Rock And Roll Shoes”:                                                    

“Back in the days of 45s, Had a hit record but I survived
you may not remember, it’s been a long time,
But I’m still a legend in my own mind!                                                                                    

So turn up the music and turn off the news
Gimme three minutes, I can loosen your screws
Rock your booty ’til you blow a fuse
Ain’t Gonna’ Hang Up My Rock And Roll Shoes”
                                                                                                                                                             

The next 53 minutes are filled with instant classics.  “I Hear Voices” and “In Heavens Eyes” will probably be covered by some major artists,  “Please Don’t Believe Me” feels like its ripped right out of today’s headlines.

I could write pages about what I heard, but “a song is worth a thousand words!” If you click onto http://cdbaby.com/cd/alanoday2/from/artiewayne, you can hear a complete verse and chorus of eight different songs from Alan O’Day’s landmark album “I Hear Voices”, for yourself.

Regards, Artie Wayne  https://artiewayne.wordpress.com  

Copyright 2008 by Artie Wayne

One Response to “PREVIEW ALAN O’DAY’S AMAZING NEW CD!”

  1. Patti Says:

    I have been blessed with an early copy of “I Hear Voices” and have had a chance to hear it a couple of times now. When I say there is something for everyone, I mean it. It is amazing to hear so many diverse songs fit into such a cohesive package; the bonding agent is Alan O’Day’s talent.
    Great work, my friend!
    Patti


Leave a Reply

