“TWITTER” GOES DOWN THE SHITTER!

December 29, 2008

wtf_creepy

 

To learn more about “TWITTER”, I had to give them my name and e-mail address. THEN THEY SLAMMED ME LIKE AN UNSCRUPULOUS TELEMARKETER! Even though I was extremely careful not to press a button to “SEND OUT INVITES”…they did anyway and compromised my entire address book!

 

I can’t tell you how livid I am, I’ve always suspected social networking networks were doing things like this…but this time they’ve messed with the wrong person! Now I know why I get so many invitations to join some of these networks…but now it’s got to stop!

 

I’m very fortunate to have a successful blog as my platform, as well as powerful allies at the L.A. Times, N.Y. Times, Rolling Stone, etc.etc.. If this has happened to you please contact me at artiewayne@gmail.com or leave a comment in the space provided below.

 

 

Thanks and regards, Artie Wayne  https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/about-artie-wayne

 

 

TO READ MY OPEN LETTER TO TWITTER https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2008/12/30/twitter-this-you-twitsim-fed-up-with-your-bull-twit/

 

9 Responses to ““TWITTER” GOES DOWN THE SHITTER!”

  1. Joe Nelson Says:

    Twitter in itself was never a problem to me, since I knw what it basically was and had no use for the service (basically you update as often as you feel necessary to tell your “friends” what you’re doing at the moment, so you update to tell people you’re “going to the store”, “listening to XM”, “masturbating” et al… My problem involved a Yahoo based service called Grouply. I got an invite from a fellow S’poper (I think – I’d never heard of him) so I signed up. Next thing I know I’m getting daily digests of messages between member in the circle, including at one point a solicitation from a gay sub to the leader of a dom club. While I wasn’t about to send anything similar, I became uneasy about a service that threatens to publicise my private messages. Needless to say, I unsubscribed immediately.

  2. Ellen Says:

    Artie, they could not have compromised your address book unless you gave them the password to your mail account. If you did that, you were asking for it. BTW, I didn’t get any message to follow you on Twitter and I’m in your address book.

    Is it possible that you gave them the url of this blog? If so, harvesting email addresses off a a blog is much more likely.

    You can always unsubscribe, if you choose. A lot of people use Twitter productively.

  3. LONI SPECTER Says:

    I thought Twitter was when you blink your eyelashes on a nipple!
    Bummer!

  4. Country Paul Says:

    Artie, I never got a solicitation from “you,” but others, especially Grouply, have done so. I’m involved with 51 discussion groups to various levels, and that’s enough. My real friends – like yourself – know how to find me!

    Loni Specter, assuming you’re a woman, I wish I’d met you when Iwas single! 🙂

    Happy New Year, Artie and friends. Thanks for the music, the good words, and especially the friendship!

  5. dimplemonkey Says:

    I got the twitter and yahoo messages recently but I just deleted them. If you are well aware of how this traffic flows, you just ignore it (or if you use gmail, mark it as spam) and it goes away. Haven’t received anything else since. I’m not complaining since I’m fairly confident you wouldn’t outright take advantage of your following. Blog on, Artie, blog on!


  6. […] MORE ON THE HORRORS OF TWITTER CLICK ON TO https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2008/12/29/twitter-is-in-the-shitter/ Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)• God Made Us Sisters; Prozac Made Us […]

  7. Tom Diehl Says:

    Artie I never received an email from you, though some of my friends use Twitter religiously and they like it. It was never something I was personally ever interested in. However, Reunion.com did the same thing to me…. i signed up to communicate with a friend, and it asked me if i wanted to send notices to my address book that i had a reunion.com account now, i said no, it still did it anyway and several people i havent spoken to in ages friended me on there. I closed that account down today because I was pissed that they did that to me after i told them not to.

  8. Laura Says:

    Hi Artie,

    I received “your” email regarding Twitter and added you as a friend – or, I should say, became a follower of yours – having just joined the service at the invitation of a friend who also happens to be a Spectropop member. This friend has since unjoined (not Spectropop, Twitter!) in the wake of these recent events, and I just might follow suit. I really don’t have time for another social network, anyway, as I already belong to several others I don’t have time for (LOL).

    One thing that should have been a red flag for me, when I first clicked on my friend’s invitation link and began the process to join Twitter, was that it came to a screen that required me to enter my email address (that field was already filled in automatically but I could override it if I wished) AND PASSWORD. Nope, don’t think so, chaps. My personal rule in life is that I never give out my email address to any site, for any reason. But no matter what I did, I couldn’t bypass the page; the site wouldn’t let me. It was required information that could not be skipped. I finally just exited the sign-up pages completely, returning to Twitter’s home page … without sharing my private email password, thank you very much. The site accepted my membership anyway, but I won’t be there much longer. I’m going to follow your lead and that of my ex-Twitter friend. If I want to share what I’m doing and my moods with my friends and acquaintances, Facebook is the best place to do that, I think. I find Facebook much more practical and user-friendly than Twitter and MySpace and the others.

    I can’t tell you how many times I’ve received invitations to social networking sites, followed almost immediately by my friends’ apologies for the unintended solicitations. Twitter is far from the only site to do this sort of thing.

    Laura

  9. Laura Says:

    Ummmmm … that sentence should have read: “I never give out my email PASSWORD to any site, for any reason.” I probably should also refrain from posting anything on any site, for any reason, before eating breakfast!

    Laura


Leave a Reply

