“LET IT BE ME”…THE ULTIMATE LOVE SONG!

May 23, 2009

ev yes

When I was General Professional Manager of Warner Brothers Music in Hollywood 1974, I came back to New York to go to my Grandmothers funeral. I didn’t plan to conduct any business, but I wanted to drop by our New York offices to say hello.

Henry Marks, who ran our professional department, was in a meeting with one of his friends, songwriter Mann Curtis (“I’m Gonna’ Live ‘til I Die”, “Aname Core”). I was thrilled and taken aback at the same time. My Grandmother’s name was Winifred Manns…and meeting Mann Curtis at this moment didn’t seem like just a coincidence.

Mann Curtis had written the English lyric to “Let It Be Me”, to French composer Gilbert Becaud, Pierre Delanoe’s music, which was not only one of my favorite songs, but was also a level of excellence I aspired to every time I wrote a song myself.

I felt hunbled to be in the presence of this man, who looked more like a hip college professor than a Tin Pan Alley songwriter. I felt honored when he shared some of the verses to “Let It Be Me” that didn’t make the final cut…I only wish I had written them down.

As I got up to leave, I told Mann that I stopped being a songwriter when I started plugging songs for Warner Brothers, but I was feeling compelled to write again due to my Grandmother’s passing. He looked at me, smiled and said, “You never stop being a songwriter.”

LET IT BE ME

Lyrics by Mann Curtis Music by Gilbert Becaud and Pierre Delanoe

I bless the day I found you
I want to stay around you
And so I beg you, let it be me

Don’t take this heaven from one
If you must cling to someone
Now and forever, let it be me

Each time we meet love
I find complete love
Without your sweet love what would life be

So never leave me lonely
Tell me you love me only
And that you’ll always let it be me

Each time we meet love
I find complete love
Without your sweet love what would life be

So never leave me lonely
Tell me you love me only
And that you’ll always—let–it be–me

Copyright 2009 by Warner Brothers Music

Here are The Everly Brothers with the first hit on “LET IT BE ME”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n_5-oVJAdHA&feature=related

Here is Jerry Butler and Betty Everett and their hit duet http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i22xbY4u2iI

WHY ISN’T THIS SONG BEING REMADE TODAY BY ALICIA KEYS AND USHER?, JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE AND CIARA?…TIM McGRAW AND FAITH HILL? Damn… I wish I had the publishing on it!

Copyright 2009 by Artie Wayne

Here’s what happened over the next three days after I met Mann Curtis and the song I wrote for my Grandmother “From The Inside”,  sung by Kim Carnes https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2007/06/30/more-stories-behind-the-songs/

4 Responses to ““LET IT BE ME”…THE ULTIMATE LOVE SONG!”

  1. Normand Kurtz Says:

    Dear Artie, WOW!!! I have always enjoyed your blog and now I must thank you for your tribute to my father’s song. What a wonderful surprise. I appreciate all of your kind words about his writing prowess. Who knew when we reunited on Facebook and you discovered that my dad Manny Kurtz, was Mann Curtis and that you had this wonderful memory of meeting him with Henry Marks.My earliest memories of my dad, were of his singing his songs to me and anyone else who would listen, I watched him work on small pieces of paper day and night writing , writing and more writing. He was a “PRO”, having his first song published when he was 13 years old and earned a living as a professional songwriter for over 60 years. That is why i remind all the people who want to be a songwriter that they must dedicate themselves to the craft as well as the art and write, write, write!!!. Lastly, I will share my last moments with my dad. We spent his last week together and he sang every song he had ever written,,,these were cherished moments. At 4 A,M, the night before he passed, i held him in my arms . he looked up at me and the last words he said were “Son, I can”t write anymore”> He closed his eyes forever. Manny is looking down and thanking you Artie for keeping the music alive and love in our lives.Thanks again, Normand

  2. Kent Kotal Says:

    Great story, Artie. Get this frickin’ book out already … I wanna read the WHOLE THING!!!


  3. Hi from Ireland, good post, deserves a Digg.

  4. romeo Says:

    love it..thanks for publishing!


Leave a Reply

