UNFORTUNATELY…BMI STILL SUCKS!

October 3, 2009

bela-lugosi-dracula-stampOn Thursday I happily reported that BMI was no longer withholding royalties from song writers…today I find out it isn’t true and BMI still sucks! Since I posted the blog I’ve had a dozen e-mails which basically say the same thing…

“Please note that BMI did not change their policy. The September quarter will always bring a check. They will not pay through the other three quarters unless you earn $250. Nothing has changed.”

Now that I have confirmed it, I must admit publicly that I was naïve and overly optimistic in believing that BMI really had reversed their insidious practice.

I’ve been with BMI for almost half-a-century as a writer, a friend of the organization for 30 years when was GPM of Warner Brothers music, and CEO of Irving-Almo music. And when I opened my own publishing company, my late Friend, Ron Anton a senior V.P. at BMI, named it…WayneArt Music.

I know that loyalty has become a thing of the past in today’s modern world, but I still believe in it. I no longer, however, have a loyalty to a faceless corporation who’s leaders have changed a dozen times since I joined, that seem to have little concern for it’s members..

I’ve steered hundreds and hundreds of writers to BMI because I thought it was the best of the performance societies. Now that my longtime friend, songwriter Paul Williams, has become the President of ASCAP, I want to see if that’s the performance society where I want to be from now on.

It’s funny, how quickly I’ve jumped back into the game, My catalog has been largely inactive and I don’t write much anymore, but six weeks ago I found out I had four tracks that I co-wrote for Michael Jackson, on three re-releases, which has given me a new lease on life!

I don’t plan to stop fighting until BMI really changes its policy about withholding songwriter’s royalties.  You can join the protest by e-mailing the CEO of BMI, Del Bryant dbryant@bmi.com Just put “BMI STILL SUCKS” on the subject line.

Regretfully, Artie Wayne https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2009/07/12/thank-you-for-one-million-hits/

To read the previous articles I’ve written about BMI https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2009/04/06/bmi-finds-a-new-way-to-screw-the-songwriter/ also you can check out. https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2009/04/08/more-ways-bmi-screws-the-songwriter/ and also https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2009/10/01/bmi-no-longer-witholds-writers-royalties/

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB https://artiewayne.wordpress.com

3 Responses to “UNFORTUNATELY…BMI STILL SUCKS!”

  1. Tom Diehl Says:

    Sorry to hear that BMI still withholds money from hard working people who deserve it….why should it line their own bank accounts for extra long amounts of time earning BMI interest on the money? The writers should be given their share of that interest, too, in my opinion.

    Artie, since hundreds if not thousands of people read your blog religiously, I can only hope that they will all send in emails to BMI and stir the pot enough to make them change their policies. I do know how important it is for songwriters to get their money in due time… they still have bills to pay like any other human, and it is unfair to them for some company to hang on to those payments just because they do not reach a specific amount.

    If BMI is withholding payments due to trying to cut down on paper waste, why don’t they try setting up an online payment for the writers to get their money in a timely manner without wasting paper (I am under the assumption that they don’t already do this), that way there is no excuse for them to withhold payments….

    I am curious how ASCAP runs things… perhaps Mr. Williams might chime in with a comment as to specify how they handle royalty payments.

  2. Craig Ciccone Says:

    They don’t issue checks for statements less than $250, as there are expenses involved in doing so, and it makes little sense to send a writer a check for $4.07.

    If you have direct deposit setup with your account, there is no such requirement and BMI will deposit any amount over $2.50 into your bank.

    Hope this clears up any confusion!

  3. lanyards Says:

    I believe that may be an interesting element, it made me suppose a bit. Thanks for sparking my pondering cap. Sometimes I am getting so much in a rut that I simply feel like a record.


Leave a Reply

