“PIED PIPER OF WOODSTOCK” AND “SH-BOOM”, TWO NEW BOOKS THAT ROCK!

November 24, 2009

I’m very fortunate to have reconnected with my old friend Songwriter and producer, Artie Kornfeld (“The Pied Piper”, “The Rain, The Park And Other Things”) on FACEBOOK during the last few months. I was able to share his joy in the celebration of the 40th anniversary of the most important cultural event of our generation, which he co – created…Woodstock 1969.

Everybody’s talking about Artie’s new book, “The Pied Piper Of Woodstock” with fascinating anecdotes about the festival. He also talks about writing songs like “Dead Man’s Curve” for Jan and Dean and “Tonight You’re Gonna” Fall In Love With Me” for the Shirrells.

“My memories of my most wonderful days were after three recording deals and managers while attending Queens College at night that, as I tell in my book “The Pied Piper of Woodstock” that I met Charles Koppelman and Don Rubin. With a 25$ demo I took the subway into Nevins Kirchner a/k/a Aldon Music and left with a 75$ a week advance against royalties and a $ 500 advance from BMI.The bread meant nothing as I was now a writer for what soon became Screen-Gems Music. I was accepted in a world of Goffin and King, Mann and Weil, Barry and Greenwich, Leiber and Stoller, Artie Kaplan, Artie Wayne, and so many others who I had only read about and got to learn with the whole Brill Building gang and was lucky enough to have hit songs with Toni Wine my first collaborator and then Steve Duboff and Jan Berry and Brian Wilson. Even my idol Steve Allan, I thought I was in heaven and I was. That is why when I got into position my door was always open. Although we all competed we all were happy at our friends successes.. It is this love of making music and affecting others through song that the seeds for Woodstock 69 were born, I used all my knowledge of music, I actually made a living out of while learning.”

EXTRA! Check out Artie’s radio show every Tuesday 10 pm EST on http://artistfirst.com



***************************************


The only time I met Disc Jockey Clay Cole face to face was in 1963 during the Kennedy Assassination, when Joey Powers, sang my first hit as a writer and producer, “(Meet Me At) Midnight Mary”, on Clay’s WPIX – TV Show.

When I reconnected with him on FACEBOOK, I wasn’t surprised that we had a lot of mutual friends. His new book is filled with Rock and Roll Memories we all wish we could’ve been part of!

“The New York television host traces the roots of rock ‘n’ roll, Top 40 radio, the Golden Age of Television, the Brill Building songwriters, doo wop, girl groups, the twist, the shag/beach music, mom and pop record labels, and Beatlemania, all set against the background of a boozy, Mafia-run Manhattan .”

Editorial Reviews
“Back in the day, everybody in New York watched Clay Cole.” — Frankie Valli

“The Clay Cole Show was on of television’s greatest rock and roll shows. Clay had the whole music industry to draw on and watch him. Clay Cole imprinted a powerful image onto the memory of a few million teenagers.” — David Hinckley, New York Daily News

“Clay Cole. Saturday Night. Rock ‘n’ Roll. New York City. Glued to the tube. I should know; I was there.” – Dion DiMucci

“Clay lit up our Saturday Nights. Clay didn’t know it, but I had a secret crush on him.”                                                                                                                            — Connie Francis

BOTH BOOKS ARE AVAILABLE AT http://Over50music.com

To reach Artie Kornfeld http://www.artiekornfeld-woodstock.com/

For Clay Cole http://www.claycoleshow.com/

Copyright 2009 by Artie Wayne https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2009/07/12/thank-you-for-one-million-hits/

EXTRA! FOR THE TOP 200 MICHAEL JACKSON AND BEATLE VIDEOS ON YOUTUBE…FREE!  http://over50music.com


5 Responses to ““PIED PIPER OF WOODSTOCK” AND “SH-BOOM”, TWO NEW BOOKS THAT ROCK!”


  1. Artie,
    I am so happy that you have put “ShBoom” on your site for all of your followers to see. Clay Cole was the Master of Ceremonies in my opinion. Not only did he give all of us Rock and Rollers a chance to be public, he cared. He loved the music and who made it happen. He was magical on that big Black and White screen we watched and appeared on during the 60’s. Now he has written all he remembers and didn’t miss a beat. God Bless Clay!


  2. Artie,

    Thanks so much for the wonderful write up on Clay Cole and his fantastic book “Sh-Boom, The Explosion of Rock and Roll” You are so right, it was a wonderful, magical time in music, and we were so blessed to be part of it and even more blessed to work with him. Clay has made it all come to life in his book, a real visual..a must read for everyone.

    With love,
    Denise

  3. lou rotondo Says:

    thanks artie Clay & I go way back we played his show in the 60’s… I can’t count the many times we pushed him into the pool after each show at palisades park, as a matter of fact Allie Contrea of The Mystics Jay Traynor of the Americans and myself (Lou Rotondo)& the late Tony Amato of the Passions backed Clay on his first recording(Hear There Everywhere) also if you log onto Clays site: Brooklyn Paramount Christmas Show 1960…you can hear my version of:
    “Plase come homechristmas”

  4. RFWoodstock Says:

    WOODSTOCK LIVES ONLINE!!!! Join us. We’re a small group of folks based at Utopia Studios in Woodstock who are keeping the spirit of Woodstock alive.

    Listen to RADIO WOODSTOCK 69 which features only music from the original Woodstock era (1967-1971) and RADIO WOODSTOCK with live music from festivals, concerts and in-studio performances with artists who reflect the spirit of Woodstock because Life is a festival. Watch Woodstock TV.

    Go to http://www.woodstockuniverse.com for details and to join our Woodstock Universe online community.

    Peace, love, music,
    RFWoodstock
    rfwoodstock@gmail.com


  5. Awesome! I’m gonna have to check it out.


Leave a Reply

