GENE PITNEY R.I.P. ROCK N PERPETUITY

January 1, 2010

pitney.JPG

GENE PITNEY  2/17/41 – 4/5/06

“Whenever publisher/ producer Aaron Schroeder was looking for material for Gene Pitney, Ben Raleigh ( “Wonderful, Wonderful”, “Love is a Hurtin’ Thing” and I would get excited. Gene was one of the most influential songwriter/
artists of our generation and it was considered quite prestigious to even get on one of his albums. Although he only recorded one of our songs, “Peanuts, Popcorn and Crackerjacks”, it’s one of my most prized cover records.
Gene was truly an inspiration to me, his songs, (“Hello Marylou”, “Rubber Ball”), his artistry, (“Every Breath I Take”,”Only Love Can Break a Heart”) and his business acumen, (He owned part of his own record company).

I never realized how much Gene Pitney is still part of my consciousness, until last year. I sent Al Kooper, a new song I had just written which included the line, “like a rubber ball, I’ll bounce back everytime”. Then Al E-mailed back, “I think it’s bee-yoo-ta-full, BUT one couplet bothers me an editor. The rubber ball and the word bounce with it hearkens way back to Vee/ Pitney whereas everything else sounds pretty fresh…think about it.”

Well, I’ve thought about it…and I’ve decided to leave it, as an homage to “The Man Who Shot Liberty Valence”.

From my forthcoming book, “I Did It For A Song”
Copyright 2009 by Artie Wayne
https://artiewayne.wordpress.com


BACK TO THE R.I.P. ROCK N PERPETUITY ARCHIVES https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2008/08/20/rip-rock-in-perpetuity-archives/

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB https://artiewayne.wordpress.com

2 Responses to “GENE PITNEY R.I.P. ROCK N PERPETUITY”

  1. Dan Hollyfield Says:

    Artie – thanks for this little snippet on Gene Pitney. He has been my favorite artist since I first heard him in 1963. I didn’t realize that he owned part of the record company! Quite a feat in those days.

    Dan Hollyfield


  2. Thanks for the post. I’ve been singing & performing Gene’s song’s for over 15 year now. Everyone says I sound like him. I’m very blessed to have his range. He has been a GREAT influence on me. We will surely miss him…


Leave a Reply

