WARREN ZEVON R.I.P. ROCK N PERPETUITY!

January 1, 2010

zevon.jpg

WARREN ZEVON 1/24/47 – 9/7/03

“In the early 70s, when I ran the professional dept. at Warner Brothers Music, part of my responsibility was to get cover records for David Geffen’s songwriter/artists. I just had a top ten record in the UK with Michael Jackson on Jackson Browne’s “Doctor my Eyes”…and Browne was excited for me to hear his freind Geffen just signed.

After a Troubador show, Jackson took me over to the old Tropicana hotel on Santa Monica B’lvd, and introduced me to Warren Zevon. For the rest of the night, with his Pignose amp blasting, Warren mesmerized me with song after great song!! Although I tried for a couple of years, unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get any of his songs covered….probably because they were so ahead of their time.

I always admired him because he never gave up. I was thrilled when Linda Rondstat recorded, “Poor Pitiful Me” and his career as an artist took off!! I was sad to hear of his passing….but I was glad that he was recognized within his lifetime for being the genius that he was!”

From my forthcoming book, “I Did It For A Song”
Copyright 2009 by Artie Wayne
https://artiewayne.wordpress.com

BACK TO THE R.I.P. ROCK N PERPETUITY ARCHIVES https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2008/08/20/rip-rock-in-perpetuity-archives/

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB https://artiewayne.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

