HERB COHEN R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY!

March 19, 2010

In 1967 I met Herb Cohen for the first time. He was managing Linda Ronstadt, and we all had dinner at the Tin Angel, above the Bitter End where Linda was performing with the Stone Ponies (“A Different Drum”). I didn’t have any “official” reason for being there other than wanting to meet Linda.

Actually, I wanted to meet Herb too, I had heard a lot of “colorful” stories about him,but whenever I mentioned anything specific he closed up. Over the years whenever I’d run into him, he’d kind of nod his head to acknowledge me, but that would be the extent of our conversation.

My friend Ellen Feldman adds “My recollections of Herb revolve mostly around his presence. He would turn up at virtually every record company where I worked for over a decade. He seemed to be everywhere, whether it was an event at the Troubadour, Roxy, Whiskey or any other club or private event.  He would make an appearance at every industry party, regardless of who was giving it or what it was for, usually just smoozing at the bar or moving quietly through the room.”

It wasn’t until the ‘80s that I became friendlier with Herbie, when he was a regular at Allan Rinde’s “Genghis Cohen” (the Chinese restaurant I named and hosted in Hollywood). He would come in several nights a week for dinner and was a regular at my talent shows on Wednesday nights. Whenever I’d see him in the audience I knew it meant that some “future star” must be performing.

I hadn’t thought about Herbie for years, but like Allan Rinde says, “He was the kind of guy you always thought you’d see again.”

Herb Cohen, R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY

Respectfully, Artie Wayne

Photo at top front Tom Waits… in back stroking his beard Herb Cohen

FOR A COMPLETE ROSTER  OF HERB’S ARTISTS AND ENTERPRISES THROUGH THE YEARS. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Herb_Cohen

Copyright 2010 by Artie Wayne https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/about-artie-wayne/

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB https://artiewayne.wordpress.com

2 Responses to “HERB COHEN R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY!”

  1. Mark Linett Says:

    I knew Herb when I worked for Zappa in the mid 70’s . Can’t say I knew him well, but i’d see him around the office at 5831 Sunset where Frank also had his rehearsal studio. Tom Waits used to come by almost daily for a friendly dice game before going off to his “real” game behind the Copper Penny Restaurant.
    I have great memories of those days, and I am sad to hear that Herbie as we always called him, is gone……..

  2. ann munday Says:

    A very entertaining and enjoyable man to be around. My sympathies to his family, and many friends. Trying to remember when I last saw him. Know the place, a Medical Tower on San Vicente, but not what year. He looked great.


Leave a Reply

