EXCLUSIVE! THE TOMMY JAMES COLLEGE OF ROCK AND ROLL KNOWLEDGE!

May 17, 2010

When I heard my pal and label mate from the past, Tommy James, who has one of the hottest books around, “Me, the Mob, and the Music”, was going to speak at Rutgers University, I was impressed.

Since I did one of the first interviews with Tommy, in which he told stories about Morris Levy and Roulette records that weren’t his book, people including myself aren’t afraid to speak out on the “Mob” any longer. Even John Gotti, Jr. did in an in depth interview on 60 minutes…without fear of retaliation.

My friend, DJ Paul Payton and I have been  creating a series of 10 five minute radio shows with Tommy called, THE TOMMY JAMES COLLEGE OF ROCK AND ROLL KNOWLEDGE! Tommy not only talks about the book, but how his music was created. How they got “that sound on the last chorus of “Crimson and Clover” What was “Crystal Blue Persuasion” really about? How he was “managed” or I should say “mis-managed” in a world where assholes never take a day off!

Here is a sample of what you’ll find in THE TOMMY JAMES COLLEGE OF ROCK AND ROLL KNOWLEDGE! https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2010/02/09/tommy-james-shocking-new-book-methe-mob-and-the-music/

Copyright 2010 by Artie Wayne https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/about-artie-wayne/

To reach Tommy James http://tommyjames.com

for Paul Payton http://paulpayton.com

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB https://artiewayne.wordpress.com

5 Responses to “EXCLUSIVE! THE TOMMY JAMES COLLEGE OF ROCK AND ROLL KNOWLEDGE!”

  1. John X Says:

    Wow – Tommy James really stirs a primal childhood memory for me. As a child, we were not allowed to listen to non-Greek music or watch (unapproved) TV. However, when I was around 7 or 8, someone gave me a small AM radio (with the beige mono earphone/plug) unbeknownst to my parents. I have to assume that the release of “Crimson & Clover” coincided with the arrival of this gift, because it is the only song I remember hearing on it.
    It was a very special secret pleasure.
    Here’s to you, TJ!

  2. Andrew C. Jones Says:

    For me, it’s a little sad and sickening to learn how much money I – unknowingly – gave to the Mob when I bought all those TJ / Shondells records.

  3. sydney zekley Says:

    hi artie
    I am Gary Zekley’s daughter. I have so many questions. Please help a daughter left in the dark.
    sincerely
    little girl lost


  4. Sydney–don’t know if you remember me–I met your dad when REM covered “Superman” and met you when I came (with my friend CJ) to New York to see them again and your dad brought you. I have not seen/spoken with you in years. I hope you are well. Please find me on facebook and drop me a message–would love to talk with you.
    -Chuck Fieldman-


  5. Trivial is a complement to this post, and so would be the statement, “One does not discover new lands without consenting to lose sight of the shore for a very long time..”.


Leave a Reply

