ANDREW GOLD R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY!

June 6, 2011

The first time I met Andrew Gold was at a little studio off of Melrose in Hollywood, where my friend Val Garay was engineering his first album. The music was so loud and captivating I didn’t catch the name of the guy sitting next to Val who was quiet and unassuming; I thought he was the second engineer , not the rising star himself.

Andrew was one of the writers of the time who held onto, wrote about, and promoted traditional values. In “Thank You For Being A Friend” you don’t doubt his sincerity for one minute and are happy everytime we hear it blasted on an oldies radio station or listen to it on an episode of the “Golden Girls”.

My friend, Sally Stevens, former publicity director at Elektra/Asylum Records, where Andrew had his biggest hits remembers, “ “I was working at E/A during a time when some of our artists could be a little ‘difficult’ to deal with!  However, Andrew was a pleasure to work with – always cooperative and easygoing, a professional in all respects. He will always be in our lives because of Thanks For Being A Friend, which he was.  I am so sorry to hear that he’s gone. My condolences to his wife and family, and to his mother, the wonderful Marni Nixon.”

 Andrew Gold may you ROCK IN PERPETUITY!

for additional information on his passing  http://www.latimes.com/news/obituaries/la-me-andrew-gold-20110606,0,7388391.story

Respectfully, Artie Wayne http://artiewayne.com

 

 

Copyright 2011 by Artie Wayne https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/about-artie-wayne/

EXTRA! EXTRA! YOU CAN BUY MY BOOK ,“I DID IT FOR A SONG” AT AMAZON or Barnes & Noble or from Smashwords

To reach Sally Stevens

http://rockphiles.typepad.com/a_life_in_the_day/

http://www.rockphiles.com/rp_artistIndex.php

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB! https://artiewayne.wordpress.com  

3 Responses to “ANDREW GOLD R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY!”

  1. Artie Wayne Says:

    posted on behalf of Roger McGuinn

    Thanks Artie,

    Andrew was a wonderful, talented guy!

    All the best,

    Then Roger sent me a copy of a letter that Andrew sent him I thought you’d all like to s ee…

    Hi. Andrew Gold here (Ronstadt, Lonely Boy, Thank You For Being A Friend, Mad About You etc). I’ve been a Byrds fanatic since I was 14 and have continued to be in touch with Roger, David, and Chris. With their blessing, and with the promise that they may sit in from time to time, I’m starting a once-a-week, LA based, all BYRDS tribute band, and we are gonna do nothing but Byrds songs, especially the first 5 albums, which to me was their golden period. I will probably set up camp in a place like the MINT or THE JOINT or somewhere along those lines, so I can pack ’em in like Waddy Wachtell and Jack Tempchin does on Mon nights at the Joint (SRO every week, with celebs always dropping by). BUT WE NEED A FEW PLAYERS! POSITIONS AVAILABLE. We have a bass player. We have me (I’ll be Mcguinn- re 12 string and Jim/Roger’s vocal parts), and we have someone who can play Crosby’s guitar parts, What we need are 3 things that would be great to be able to find in 2 people: A drummer, preferably one who will be able to imitate Michael Clarke’s drum style, and we need someone to play handyman, playing some keyboard parts, some maracas and tambourine, and some acoustic guitar. AND, most importantly, we desperately need someone who can sing (strongly and in tune!) David Crosby’s vocal harmonies/songs etc. If the keyboard/tamb guy can do that it would be perfect. OR, if we have someone who could play David’s guitar parts and sing that would work great..but we need a voice as much like David’s as possible. High harmonies. You don’t need to look like them- and you don’t HAVE to be a man either. Just good. So, if anyone is available, would like to have A LOT of fun, and is good, please contact me at andrewgold@aol.com.

    Thanks andrew

  2. Ann Munday Says:

    I cannot believe this. I am totally stunned. I did not meet Andrew many times, however, the few that happened were just extremely enjoyable. And such a wonderful writer. I am so sorry for all his family and his many friends.


  3. I’m very sad today, knowing that one of my favorite musician-singer-songwriters suddenly passed away. What a talent. Everything he wrote was classy, even if it all was not a hit. The things Gold wrote with Graham Gouldman for Wax and 10cc were real gems. I’ll always admire his talent as a writer and producer. Thankfully, Andrew Gold left a lot of work behind for us all to enjoy, most of which is readily available from Amazon.com and others. Please check out his life’s work, if you haven’t already!


Leave a Reply

