CONGRATULATIONS ALAN O’DAY FOR BEING IN #1 MOVIE “SUPER 8”!

June 13, 2011

I’m so happy for my friend Alan O’Day who has his 1977 number one hit “UNDERCOVER ANGEL” in the new Steven Speilberg/ J.J. Abrams movie “SUPER 8”. What’s even more amazing is the way that he found out about it!

O’Day recalls, “Last Thursday morning I received a phone call from my disc jockey friend Barry Scott, in Boston.  He had just seen the new Spielberg/Abrams movie “Super 8”.  What he told me had my jaw dropping:  They used a piece of my song “Undercover Angel” in the movie!  I was absolutely shocked & thrilled, as no one had informed me of the placement.  Since then, I’ve received so many congratulatory emails & posts to my Facebook group (http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=group_113462684910) , I feel like I’m having a career-gasm!  People are telling me they love the movie, & they’re so happy for me when they hear my song coming out of a radio in one scene, & see my name as writer & singer in the end credits.  I understand the movie did $38 million this last weekend!  Although I know the choice of that record has little to do with me as a person, I take it very personally.  I am honored that my song is in a Spielberg film, & I’m grateful to be a part of pop music history.

The 1977 album containing “Undercover Angel”, & my original version of “Angie Baby”, has been beautifully remastered to CD, available on my website:”

http://alanoday.com

Alan

Copyright 2011 by Artie Wayne https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/about-artie-wayne/

EXTRA! EXTRA! YOU CAN BUY MY BOOK ,“I DID IT FOR A SONG” AT AMAZON or Barnes & Noble or from Smashwords

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB! https://artiewayne.wordpress.com  

2 Responses to “CONGRATULATIONS ALAN O’DAY FOR BEING IN #1 MOVIE “SUPER 8”!”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    Artie good to hear Alan is at the top again!
    Stephanie

  2. nicbeery Says:

    I noticed that too. Great song in a great film.


Leave a Reply

