LEFSETZ ATTACKS…FACEBOOK FRIENDS STRIKE BACK!

June 16, 2011

Earlier today, my friend, Social Media Manager, Jeanette Lundgren and I were working on building a positive campaign for the forthcoming FACEBOOK FRIENDS APPRECIATION DAY and a song written by Alan O’Day (“UNDERCOVER ANGEL”), Sally Stevens and myself . Then an article spun across my virtual desk with the title “Facebook” from Bob Lefsetz which felt so negative compared to what my colleagues and I are trying to create.  I couldn’t help but write my experiences on the subject in reply because Facebook is currently one of my top valued business tools. 
 
Before I give a response to his recent post I want you read what he said about FACEBOOK! 
http://lefsetz.com/wordpress/index.php/archives/2011/06/15/facebook/
 
Although I’m disabled and no longer am able to leave my house, I still  can travel all over the world via my FACEBOOK friends. I can stroll the beaches of Chile with Kellye, sightsee in Cairo with Patti, go on a photo safari in Africa with Dave, and go on a cruise in the Bahamas with my cousin Sharon and her husband Algie.
 
I resumed writing, pitching songs, and even finished my autobiography, “I DID IT FOR A SONG” with the help of about thirty of my FACEBOOK Friends.
 
In the past year I reconnected with over 700 people from my past and helped them reconnect with many of their friends. I see all the posts that scroll down my screen, and feel good that so many are filled with positive thoughts and messages, that I can’t accept what Bob Lefsetz said.
 
My friend, Social Media Manager, Jeanette Lundgren, “Mother Hen” agrees with me. “In the last year alone I have made some very valuable connections for my clients with house concerts and internet radio.  Facebook is the new ‘hands across the water’ — the internet and facebook knows no borders.  We are all in this together.
 
“It is true that some other social media site may come along that trumps Facebook (the way Facebook trumped myspace); and it is also true that sometimes Facebook makes changes that confuse and anger their populace BUT they always give you forewarning and the opportunity to dip your toe in to check the waters’ temperature before pulling the carpet out from under you.  In these instances, I have learned to jump in cold, learn the ropes and give my clients and friends the opportunity to change while I walk them through it.  Facebook isn’t changing their site to anger you; they’re making changes to make their site more useful.  The fact that people as a rule don’t like change can’t be helped.  Sometimes you just gotta go with the flow.”
 
Jeanette and I have decided not to stand around and let FACEBOOK take the blows without doing something about it. So we’re putting our full support behind next Tuesdays (6/21) FACEBOOK FRIENDS APPRECIATION DAY.
 
More about it tomorrow and how you can help!
 
Here is our “official” song of the movement — a song we wrote about FACEBOOK…not about the technical aspects, but about the humanity and the world’s new way of shaking hands! “I WANNA BE YOUR FACEBOOK FRIEND” (O’Day/Stevens/Wayne)

Jeanette Lundgren is the “Mom Hen” in Mother Hen Promotions; she calls herself a Social Media Manager (with a side of internet radio) for quality independent musicians and indie music related businesses. http://www.motherhenpromotions.com 

2011 by Artie Wayne https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/about-artie-wayne/

EXTRA! EXTRA! YOU CAN BUY MY BOOK ,“I DID IT FOR A SONG” AT AMAZON or Barnes & Noble or from Smashwords

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB! https://artiewayne.wordpress.com  
 
 

4 Responses to “LEFSETZ ATTACKS…FACEBOOK FRIENDS STRIKE BACK!”


  1. As usual, Artie, you managed to hit the nail on the head. Although you have missed out the part where your whole account disappeared and you vowed never to use Facebook ever, ever again.
    FB can be irritating when something you could previously do, you now can’not. Although to be equitable, you can also now do something you could not before.
    However, as a Mac fan rather than a PC fan, I find that Mcirosoft changes what goes on with my computer, far more often and I’ve learned to go with that ebb and flow. And my mouse DEFINITELY has its own mind – of that I am convinced; since the cursor will shoot all over the place and without warning – words just written, get moved or truncated or letters added to another word somewhere else in the document!
    My fFB friends got used to the fact that I sometimes ended up posting the same post over and over, not knowing that FB had tweaked their settings, so that you can review what you’ve posted and have time to change it
    FBhas helped me through a dark period of my life when certain family members I have only ever done my best to help, turned on me and called me mean, nasty, spiteful and self centred (by the way Artie, although I have now live here over half my life, I shall become an American citizen this year – yes finally!) My fFB friends believe otherwise and I have realised that they know me better than own my family does.
    I have not only been able to be back in touch with friends I’ve made over the year, I’ve also restored friends I’ve known, but whose names have been stored away in a large file.
    I recently discovered that an old room mate, Ian Warner (our 2 bedroomed apartment was opposite Don William’s apartment on Camino Palmero), who was International manager of Mushroom Records, when Heart was flying high. Ian found me again because he is also the cousin of a schooll friend! And that school friend I am back in touch with as well. And Ian and I never knew this until Facebook came along.
    It was particularly delightful getting back in contact with Ian, who I met at Midem, two years earlier than the one when I met you. He offered me a job starting their publishing company, which delighted me. Sun instead of rain?
    And also gave me the opportunity to seriously consider whether or not to accept the job of becoming General Manager of Chrysalis Music Ltd. I can still see the look of surprise on the MD’s face when he offered me the job and I responded, “I have to think about it as there’s a job available for me in Los Angeles”. His face was a picture!
    And I learned something through being back in touch with Tim Whitsett via FB (ran Memphis Music), who was brought over to become General Manager of Chrysalis Music Ltd, after Chrysalis turned down buying Memphis Music!! HELLO, is there anyone out there? Tim kindly told me recently that he was told by the Chrsalis Group MD, that I would have been made Generall Manager, but wasn’t, because guess what, I was a woman! And guess what, I am still a woman! Which fact you can attest to, as you only recently had me visit you.
    And finally in tribute to Facebook, you may have taken up too much of my time, however, you have also given me so many opportunities to have political discussions with friends (sometimes very heated ones!), find new music, promote political action we can all take to help the USA recover from Cheyney/Bush. Post petitions from organisations that are working to make this country a Democracy again, where the “I have got everything I need” part of the population, which doesn’t want the ones who don’t even have food sometimes, or a place to live, or healthcare or a job, although they would like to have one, be hopefully defeated. And the power of FB friendships unites people who are like minded, and if enough of us are united, we can make a difference, support President Obama and make this country a democracy again.
    And finally, thank you Artie, for also reuniiting me with music biz friends and songwriters and introducing me to new people.
    PS please send me a reminder that June 21 is FB Appreciation Day.
    lol Ann Munday

  2. Ann Munday Says:

    Hello fellow tweeters I’ve have just joined the cause 2 have a Facebook Appreciation day on June 21 & to introduce u 2 Artie Wayne On The Web

  3. Sharon Link Says:

    My experiences withFacebook have been very favorable. It has brought me together with my high school classmates from 50 years ago. We have a group acctand are able to post pictures of ourselves and families and reconnect with each other like we were back in high school. It’s so interesting because we were all from PA, but now these classmates are all over the USA; Facebook has allowed us to “visit” with each other, regardless of the distance.

  4. John Harrold Says:

    Hi Artie,

    There is one change that Facebook made that is driving me nuts, and that is the one where an item posts merely by pressing “enter”.

    John Harrold, a Facebook friend


Leave a Reply

