ARTIE WAYNE R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY!

June 20, 2011

 

this headline for my own obituary was the last thing I remember typing as I slumped over my keyboard a few days ago, my mouse too heavy for me to lift, my body in so much pain I was praying I would just simply die!

fortunately, I had an appointment with the pain management center in palm springs the next day. I could barely make it from my friend allan’s car to the hospital wheelchair.

I could no longer use my hands or even stand. Then Dr. Lai, who I was seeing for the first time, gave me a non-narcotic shot in the hip (since I refuse to take mind numbing pain killers) and arranged another appointment for me next week, while i agreed to a battery of tests to determine what’s wrong with me.

For three days I felt great, with zero pain, and threw myself into my latest projects, FACEBOOK FRIENDS APPRECIATION DAY and the promotion of my new book, “I DID IT FOR A SONG”. Then this morning I had a relapse and realized I was pushing too hard!

I apologize to everyone I pushed for comments, you can cut and paste them in the area below my article, and the rest of you can check out what’s got me so excited. https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2011/06/17/facebook-friends-appreciation-day/

In addition to what Dr. Lai did for me I credit a breathing technique I learned a long time ago for helping to save my life. https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2007/07/02/most-important-thing-ive-learned-on-earth-positive-thinking-brings-results-i-desire/

I plan to lay low for a while and not answer emails or take calls, but if you want to leave a message for me you can do so at https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2011/05/22/comments-that-people-have-made-about-i-did-it-for-a-song/

Thank you for your prayers, I’ll see you all soon

Regards, Artie Wayne http://artiewayne.com

69 Responses to “ARTIE WAYNE R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY!”

  1. Laura Says:

    Hi Artie,

    I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers. I hope it’s many years before we see your blog post’s heading for real! Your communiques are so very much appreciated, as are the comments and discussions they generate; and your excitement is truly contagious, but I’m sure I speak for many when I say that we don’t want it to be at the expense of your health! Great idea to start taking some time out for Artie.

    Get well soon,
    Laura

  2. Loni Specter Says:

    You’re scaring the fuck out of me! ZAP! your all better now.

  3. Gordon Shaffer Says:

    Artie, I agree with Laura.. time to take it easy and focus on getting well. We’ll all be with you in our hearts and minds, as well as our prayers!

    God bless you,
    Gordon

  4. Country Paul Says:

    The good news is that you’re still on the right side of the earth. The bad news is the rest of it. Take it easy, take care of yourself, heal completely and take my best hopes and wishes with you.

    Country Paul

  5. Stephanie Says:

    Oh Artie I hope you are ok. People dont understand what it is like to be in constant pain I have been there before. I will pray for you and remember you did it for a song!

  6. May Pang Says:

    Hi Artie,

    I send you good healing thoughts. Feel better soon.

    Bless you.

    May

  7. Joe Nelson Says:

    Years ago I created a spoof of this page which I never got to show Artie (lost toi a computer crash now) called “Artie Wayne In the Web”. (The “if life is a lottery” quote was replaced with “just because I’m not as young as you doesn’t mean I can’t kick your ass” – see “You Can’t Put a Bullett Back Into the Gun” for the context.) I was aware that you’re not feeling well these days, but I find it both scary AND amusing that I thought the “obit” was real – largely because if seemed like if anyone could figure out a way to write his own obituary, the guy who wrote “I’m at My Best When I’m Down” would be the one to pull it off. Take care of yourself, buddy – we’ll all be here.

  8. Ellen Feldman Says:

    Artie, darling: I have known you for something like forty-five years and I haven’t seen you give up for a second, no matter how tough life was at any given moment. So take a deep breath and remember that you still have plenty to say and legions of us that are listening. ‘You’ve got miles and miles of heart’, endless creativity and indominatable spirit. And, may I add, that your determination to stay positive no matter what is something that many of us use as an example when we’re ready to just curl up and say uncle. Stay right here with us and keep on rocking in perpetuity! Go write a song, you’ll feel better in the morning….
    Much much love, xoxoxox El

  9. Tom Diehl Says:

    Artie,

    Too many greats have been leaving us lately….and today my grandfather joined the great ones who have gone before him….I’m starting to think God is getting a bit greedy taking all of the best people from this earth, and I thank God you’re still here, and send you all of my prayers, positive energies, and healing thoughts.

    God bless and keep you,
    Tom

  10. Eddie Hodges Says:

    Artissimo,
    Thank God you are still above ground. You have much more inspiring to do – God knows you have inspired me! Let’s stay above ground a while longer together so we can both inspire others for the duration!!!
    Your friend,
    Eddie Hodges

  11. Roddy Novotny Says:

    Jesus! Thinking about you and then hear this! Stay strong and we are all pulling for you!

  12. Mike Millius Says:

    Hey Artie, Take care of your special self. You’re not sick, you’re just getting better. MXO

  13. Denise Says:

    Dear Artie….you are in my thoughts and prayers…stay strong, we need you..we love you…Denise/the Delicates/jerseyGirlsSing

  14. Wedigo Watson Says:

    Artie, praying that you are on the mend and feeling much better.

  15. Artie Wayne Says:

    THANK YOU ALL FOR YOUR PRAYERS, EMAILS, AND CALLS
    I’M FEELING BETTER AFTER MY NEAR DEATH EXPERIENCE LAST WEEK, BUT I HAVE TO TAKE IT EASY.

    I NEED YOUR HELP, TO MAKE FACEBOOK FRIENDS APPRECIATION DAY A SUCCESS. I’M TOO TIRED TO DO ANY MORE WORK NOW., SO I’M ASKING HELP FROM ALL MY FB FRIENDS

    IF YOU LIKE MY ARTICLE AND THE SONG, “I WANNA’ BE YOUR FACEBOOK FRIEND” PLEASE FEEL FREE TO SHARE IT WITH ALL OF YOUR FRIENDS…AND TELL THEM TO SHARE IT WITH ALL OF THEIRS, BUT IF YOU LOVE IT FEEL FREE TO SHARE IT WITH YOUR WHOLE ADDRESS BOOK AND SO ON, AND SO ON!

    HEY…IT’S FACEBOOK FRIENDS APPRECIATION DAY, AND WHAT BETTER WAY TO SAY IT THAN “I WANNA’ BE YOUR FACEBOOK FRIEND”?

    THANKS, ARTIE

  16. Dee Trane Says:

    Artie, I posted on the other page …
    I can only mirror what other’s have written ….
    You are a bright light – Keep shining here, paving
    the way with good deeds and thoughts, musical expression ….
    You are loved !
    Dee

  17. carol ross-durborow Says:

    artie, your heart and mind have to know how many people care about you….therefore, you need to work hard to get yourself to feeling better….life throws us curves and the good lord wants to see how we deal with them….you can deal with anything ….you have a strong support system…..we are all with you!….carol ross-durborow and tommy james

  18. Bill Pitzonka Says:

    Artie, take care. You still got a long way to go!

  19. Colleen Says:

    Artie I am at work right now but I will forward this and put it on my Facebook please come back when you feel better.
    Stephanie

  20. Gordon Shaffer Says:

    Artie, I’m both sad and happy to hear of your retirement… sad because for the past 4 years I have looked forward to seeing your blog show up in my inbox. As a lifelong lover of all things musical since the 50’s, and an obsessive reader of album liner notes, I found that your articles from a behind-the-scenes perspective were just what I needed to connect all the dots. You put the songwriters and studio musicians right where they belong.. on center stage!.. but I am also happy, because I want you to take the time off to recover, so that in the future you will be able to continue sharing your experiences and insight with all of us.

    You will eventually take your rightful place in that Rock and Roll Heaven… but just not right now!

    Godspeed and best wishes!

    Gordon

  21. Marc Miller Says:

    Artie –

    I know only too well what it’s like to live with mind-shattering pain. I’ve been disabled since 2005, after an accident in 1993 nearly left me paralyzed. It’s a very long story, but trust me, I know how you feel. And the only people who can *really* know how you feel are those that have been there. I wish you a speedy recovery and hope to see your S’pop posts sooner rather than later.

    Marc


  22. Listen, Artie…Take care of yourself or you’re really gonna piss me off! You listening? You hear me?

    Bob

  23. steveo(steven . owen) Says:

    Artie,
    This is shocking! Please follow out the tests and see if they can find out what the He** is happening! , then get well, and come back to us!
    We all love you!
    Best,
    Steveo

  24. Joe Cerisano Says:

    You’ve had an amazing life Artie and it ain’t over till it’s over.

  25. Hunter George Says:

    Getting old ain’t for sissys. I began to realize that when I had a stroke at 53. For the next 17 years I have fought heart failure, nearly died twice, diabetes, etc. Through it all God has been with me, and He is with you too. Keep up the fight, Artie.


  26. well, you nearly scared me to death…..

  27. Max J Weiner Says:

    Artie,
    I have been diagnosed with Renal Failure. I am nothing but a shell of what I used to look like. It’s not any easy pill to swallow. But I have the grace of GOD with me, and I know I will perservere. I believe you will too. You are an amazing person, and I have enjoyed your articles on Spectropop for years. I have learned a lot from you, as others will continue to. Thanks for all you have brought to us!

    You are the greatest, Artie!

    Max
    (macjo63 from Spectropop)

  28. Rich Okun Says:

    Dear Artie;

    Thank you for friending me – I offer prayers for your continued healing and look forward to reading your book and of your experiences.

    with love
    Rich

  29. Larry Allen Says:

    Live long and prosper, you’ve got more work to do. Thanks for the positive vibes.

  30. Tony Waitekus Says:

    Best to you!

  31. Eileen Shankle Says:

    Dear Artie,
    I am sorry to read about what you are going through. I have enjoyed reading your contributions to Forgotten Hits over the years. I would love to read a copy of your book. Please keep yourself comfortable and stress free.

  32. Ron Sauer Says:

    Artie
    TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF. Keep well and return healthy.
    Ron

  33. Malcolm Collins Says:

    I have been a forgottenhits member for many years, and I have read your letters. I would love to read your book. It must be filled with stories I would love to know.

  34. Doug Thompson Says:

    Saw your latest notice on Forgotten Hits and I’m very sad that you’re in such pain.

    You’re a rock and roll legend and will never be forgotten for your amazing contributions to the world.

    Thank you Artie.

    Doug Thompson
    Toronto

  35. Robin Miller Says:

    Take care Artie, and Get Well Soon.

    I hope to read some moreof your great articles before too long.

    All the best,

    Robin.


  36. Artie, you need to do what is best for you and your health. Talent is a wonderful thing, but if you are not around to use it… what is the point. Please rest and take care of yourself!

    You are in my thoughts and prayers. Much love.
    Ginger Pennewell
    Jacksonville, FL

  37. Bill Scherer Says:

    Hi Artie, though we’ve never met, I feel like we could certainly have some great music related conversations. I’m sure all the others out there that only know you from your work feel the same. We are very blessed and lucky to have you around giving all your stories and knowledge to us whether it be from your book, FB, or all your great posts at Forgotten Hits. Please take the time you need to take care of yourself. We’ll all be here waiting patiently.

  38. Guy Arnston Says:

    Hey Artie, sorry to hear of your travails. Hang in there, the world needs all the songs it can get.

    Guy

  39. Millie Says:

    I suffer from fibromyalgia and while some people think it’s all in my head, I know better than that. I still work, but find it harder and harder to do each day. I’ll pray for a speedy recovery and for you be pain free…

  40. don rehrer Says:

    Artie,
    Even though I haven’t known you as long as some of the others,I value every day that we’ve been friends on Facebook,and sharing comments at Forgotten Oldies.I’ve learned a wealth of musical knowledge from you,and have heard some of the great songs you’ve written and performed,you are a national treasure! I’m currently going to physical therapy,and it’s working very well,hope to have my balance restored by September.It’s been a long road back for me from a skull fracture in 1986,but when I hear of one of my friends going through a bad time,my problems seem small. I will say a prayer each and every day for you,Artie…may you return to good health soon,and keep on
    laying down the stories of the good old days in rock & roll.

  41. Jeff Lemlich Says:

    Artie,
    I know it’s been rough for you, but it’s good to know you are hanging in there. Way better than the alternative! The guy who gave us “One By One” and “Automated Man” deserves only the best! Jeff L.


  42. Artie, I’m loving your book… And my son is reading it as well. He’s a terrific singer-songwriter and values the music of the “good old days”… your era and mine. But, I gotta tell you, this headline scared the s**t outta me. Although we only worked together at WB for a year or two… you’ve got to be one of the most influential people in my career. Don’t wanna lose you, pal. Take care of yourself, and know we’re thinking of you.

    Best regards, Robert

  43. Mark Nemeth Says:

    Get well soon, Artie. I have a pacemaker as well as diabetes so I know what to expect if I don’t do the things I’m supposed to do, so I have to be careful. Take care. Markieo

  44. Dimplemonkey Says:

    Frankie says “relax”, I think that’s good advice.


  45. Prayers for blessings for you. Thank you for your music!


  46. Artie: glad to know that you made it past this speedbump. If you feel like it’s time to give up the blog, you’re completely within your rights. I hope, however, that after a rest that you’ll feel the urge to return. Whatever you choose to do, thanks for all that you’ve already given us, and good luck in all your endeavors.

  47. John Henderson Says:

    Hang in there, Artie . . . there’s a whole world of people who’ve grown to admire your wit and humor and enormously obvious lust for life and all its tales. You’ve got too much to say to fade away now – no doubt happier and more comfortable days await!

  48. Kelpie Says:

    Artie, I’m here through finding you on Alan O’Day’s Facebook page. I just wanted to say that you are in my thoughts and prayers and I hope you are feeling better soon.

    Best wishes coming your way from Colorado.

  49. Jeff Says:

    Artie, sing on man… been all the way and back again..Ask Suz. Ya do take with ya what ya brought in with ya; rest is matter of fact. Never surrender, just return what’s been on loan to ya. Your beautiful way of being is your interest earned. Instead of the rule of 8 in financial investments, the rule of eternity drives your spiritual returns. When ya return that “personal loan (aka Life)” ya get a beautiful, beatific eternity right away. So Artie, sing on, here, there, any and every where, whenever the Song moves ya!! LLP! Dr/Br Free

  50. Mike Edwards Says:

    Artie, look at all the work you do for us. Who’s gonna do that if you go? Besides, I just made a donation to President Obama’s reelection campaign which registered me for a chance to have dinner with the President. I think you can bring a guest – and you’d better believe that if I’m chosen, I would be proud to have you come along with me. You never know! Sincere best wishes, Mike Edwards


  51. Artie: Thanks for everything you’ve written, everything you’ve done, and who you are. Please relax into the space where you can feel the love of all those within and without you!

  52. Marc Nathan Says:

    Artie… Genghis… Shadow…

    You’re the best… I’m glad you’ve made it through the worst!

    Marc

  53. Paul LaDue Says:

    Thanks Artie – Be well.
    76 Botany Drive
    Asheville, NC 28805

  54. Doug Says:

    Thanks for all the great info. Get well, stay well.

  55. Joel Najman Says:

    Artie – Please hang in there, and you’re in my prayers. You don’t know me, but I’ve been reading your posts, and you are such a treasure. I just spent a day with Stan Greenberg, Florence’s son, and the memories were flowing like fine wine.
    Please get well, and thank you for sharing your career and love of the music with us.
    Joel Najman
    c/o Vermont Public Radio
    365 Troy Avenue
    Colchester, VT 05446

  56. Marva Holiday Says:

    Artie, I somehow overlooked this!!! Know that I really appreciate you as a friend, writer, singer, songwriter, producer, publisher, artist and human being — Take care of yourself and I truly hope you will eventually feel well enough to “un” retire..or at least write a little something every now and again. BIG cyberhug 🙂

  57. Eddy Says:

    All the best, Artie ! Thanks for the music and all the comments about it.


  58. Music was your 1st Love and it will be your last…

    In the mean time Love you more for all you did for the music…

    Andylon Lensen

  59. Texas Tom Says:

    I would like to read your book! Sounds great!

  60. Lane Quigley Says:

    Artie – I’m glad that you are doing better, keep going strong !! I would love to have a copy of your book

    Lane Quigley
    THE MEMORY LANE SHOW
    3255 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 1200
    Los Angeles, California 90010

    Thanks for the great music.

    “Memory” Lane Quigley

  61. Bill Bircher Says:

    Artie,

    i’ve enjoyed reading your comments on spectropop through the years.

    You are a champion!

    Godspeed,

    Bill Bircher

  62. pagogo Says:

    Really going to miss your insights about music.
    Hope that you recover and reconsider.


  63. Artie, Never give up, keep the faith and you will get well. It saddens me to hear your pain….We all love you and your work. Prayers are coming your way. Many Blessings to you .
    Bernadette

  64. Gary Hudeck Says:

    Artie, I have really enjoyed your posts on Spectropop, as well as your music. My daughter, the pharmacist tells me there have been many recent strides in pain management, so I hope you can find the right solution quickly.

  65. John Heimbecker Says:

    Artie:

    As a long-time Spectropopper, I’ve been enjoying your quite spectacular emergence as a music-biz raconteur for many years. (Some familiar and fondly-remembered names in this chain…) Having you come forward, to share your experience, your insights and your love of music with those of us who are ‘mere listeners’ has been a great delight. I’m rather taken aback by just how much I’ll miss hearing from you. Thank you so much for all the great stories — you’ve done a lot of good. I’m very sad to hear about your struggle with pain and I respect the challenge you’ve been facing; please get well! And again, thanks! (But gadzooks! what a headline!)


Leave a Reply

