UNIVERSAL MUSIC GROUP UNDER SIEGE!

November 4, 2011

BACK IN THE ’60S, WHEN I WAS GPM OF WARNER BROTHERS MUSIC, I FOUGHT THE EXPLOITATION OF SONGWRITERS AND HELPED MY FRIENDS, AL CLEAVELAND (“I SECOND THAT EMOTION”, “WHAT’S GOIN’ ON”) AS WELL AS NICK ASHFORD AND VALERIE SIMPSON (“AIN’T NO MOUNTAIN HIGH ENOUGH”) ESCAPE FROM MOTOWN.

I NEVER DREAMED THAT 35 YEARS LATER, I’D BE IN THE MIDDLE A BATTLE WI TH AN OLD ADVISARY…I GUESS EVERYTHING OLD IS NEWS AGAIN!

MOTOWN ORGINALLY BOUGHT BY THE UNIVERSAL MUSIC GROUP HAS RECENTLY BEEN AQUIRED BY THE VIVENDI MUSIC CONGLOMORATE. AMONG THE TRACKS THEY OWN ARE, “LITTLE CHRISTMAS TREE” AND “TOUCH THE ONE YOU LOVE”, WHICH I CO-WROTE WITH GEORGE CLINTON, JR., AND WERE RECORDED BY MICHAEL JACKSON

THESE TWO SONGS ARE IN FOUR POSTHUMOUS RELEASES, AND I WAS PAID LESS THAN $4000 IN ROYALTIES…

WHEN I STARTED SPOTLIGHTING THE UNIVERSAL MUSIC GROUP AND THEIR QUESTIONABLE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM I STARTED GETTING CONFIDENTIAL E MAILS AND PRIVATE MESSAGES FROM PEOPLE WHO WANTED TO GET WHAT THEY WERE DUE ALSO, BUT WERE AFRAID OF RETALIATION.

I SUGGESTED A CLASS ACTION AUDIT, WHICH WOULD MAKE ECONOMIC SENSE, IF YOU COULDN’T AFFORD YOUR OWN INVESTIGATION. IN THE MEANTIME, I STARTED WRITING ABOUT THE INJUSTICES I WAS DEALING WITH, URGED EVERYONE WHO HAD A PROBLEM WITH UMG, TO SPEAK UP NOW!

I’M HAPPY TO SAY THAT MORE AND MORE OF THAT IS HAPPENING, AND I’M THRILLED TO SAY THAT TWO MORE VOICES HAVE BEEN ADDED TO THE CHORUS…I MEAN THE CHORALE!!

THE ESTATE OF RICK JAMES, WHOM I DISCOVERED AND SIGNED TO A+M RECORDS, HAS FILED SUIT AGAINST UMG FOR THE UNDERPAYMENT OF ROYALTIES THAT COMES TO MILLIONS OF DOLLARS! http://www.digitalmusicnews.com/permalink/2011/111102jamesa

AND CHUCK D., FROM PUBLIC ENEMY WHOSE RECORD COMPANY DEF JAM RECORDS WAS BOUGHT BY UMG, HAS JUST FILED A MULTI-MILLION DOLLAR LAWSUIT AGAINST THE COMPANY AS WELL http://www.digitalmusicnews.com/permalink/2011/111102chuckd

IF I WERE VIVENDI I’D BE LOOKING TO SETTLE OUR CLAIMS AS QUICKLY AS POSSIBLE SO THEY CAN GET ON WITH THE MARKETING OF THE ONE OF THE BEST MUSIC CATALOGS IN THE WORLD!

IF “THE MAN” DISABLES “FIGHT THE POWER”…JUST CLICK ONTO http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8PaoLy7PHwk&feature=related

THANKS TO PAUL RESNIKOFF FOR THE INFO ON THE LAWSUITS 

SPECIAL THANKS TO DAWN LEE WAKEFIELD FOR SPEARHEADING THE CAMPAIGN TO FIND JUSTICE FOR ME STARTING WITH THE TWO SHOCKING ARTICLES SHE WROTE FOR THE NATIONAL EXAMINER LAST WEEK…ARTIE WAYNE VS. THE MUSIC INDUSTRY  http://www.examiner.com/classic-rock-music-in-national/artie-wayne-vs-the-music-industry-can-a-nice-guy-finish-firstAS WELL AS PART TWO OF HER SCATHING BEHIND THE SCENE STORY. http://www.examiner.com/classic-rock-music-in-national/the-artie-wayne-school-of-music-economics-counting-up-friends-who-count

IF YOU HAVE A PROBLEM GETTING PAID FROM THE POWERS THAT BE PLEASE LEAVE YOUR STORY IN THE PLACE PROVIDED FOR COMMENTS BELOW…THANKS

EXTRA! EXTRA! NOW YOU CAN BUY MY NEW UNEDITED…UNCENSORED BOOK ,“I DID IT FOR A SONG” AT AMAZON or Barnes & Noble or from Smashwords

TO READ A CHAPTER OR TWO FOR FREE CLICK  HERE

TO READ SOME OF THE COMMENTS  CLICK  HERE

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB! https://artiewayne.wordpress.com

One Response to “UNIVERSAL MUSIC GROUP UNDER SIEGE!”


  1. […] UNIVERSAL MUSIC GROUP UNDER SIEGE! […]


Leave a Reply

