ETTA JAMES R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY!

January 20, 2012

I USUALLY ONLY WRITE ABOUT PEOPLE I KNEW…BUT LIKE MILLIONS OF OTHERS WHEN I HEAR “AT LAST”, I FEEL LIKE I KNEW HER!

When my friend Alan O’Day (“UNDERCOVER ANGEL “, “ANGIE BABY”) heard about Ettas’ passings as well as his mentor Johnny Otis, he emailed me this…

“I feel a major loss in their passing. Both of these R&B icons played major roles in my career. My first experience in a “pro” recording studio was with Johnny producing & engineering, in the late 50’s, at a place called Eldo Records in Hollywood.  And although I didn’t meet her until years later, Etta was one of my inspirations in learning to sing soul-style.  Specifically her album “At Last”, which she autographed for me. The influences of both these people on our pop music culture is sadly underrated.  Each of them helped break the color barrier, each of them helped add such richness to my early life in music.  May their wonderful talents grace the choirs in heaven!”

ETTA JAMES MAY YOU ROCK IN PERPETUITY!

Respectfully, Artie Wayne

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/

One Response to “ETTA JAMES R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY!”

  1. Barbara Blanco Says:

    Dear Artie,
    We had contacted you awhile ago and you were able to get us in contact with Patti Dahlstrom. We know she was in Texas but moved to England. We would like very much to get in contact with her again. My email is – barb8871@mhcable.com.
    Could you pass our message along to her, we would love to hear from her again.
    Thank you, Jorge and Barbara Blanco


Leave a Reply

