“EVERYTHING OLD IS NEWS AGAIN!”

April 27, 2012

EXTRA! EXTRA! I’M HAPPY TO SAY THAT ROBIN GIBB HAS JUST COME OUT OF A COMA. OUR PRAYERS ARE WITH YOU FOR A COMPLETE RECOVERY. given only a 10% chance to survive Robin Gibb confounds doctor and awakes from a deep coma. Playing music that he and his brothers recorded has helped his recovery tremendously according to his family. Once again proving THE HEALING POWER OF MUSIC! http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/celebritynews/9219806/Robin-Gibb-confounds-doctors-by-waking-from-coma.html

BELIEVE IN THE POWER OF YOUR FACEBOOK FRIENDS!

As we grow older we start to lose family and friends and much of our support system, but fortunately we have FACEBOOK! I’ve asked my FACEBOOK FRIENDS for everything from helping me remember a line from a song to prayers whenever I’ve needed them…but this time I thought I might’ve gone too far!

When my HMO, the ironically named HUMANA insurance and their “DEATH PANEL” at the EMPIRE PHYSICIANS MEDICAL GROUP kept denying me a life saving procedure, Seth Grenkey, a FACEBOOK FRIEND, suggested that I ask all of you to call, fax and write letters to them and to MEDICARE to have their decision reversed. I don’t know how many responses they got, but they called me twice and asked me politely to stop!

I’m happy to say the campaign worked and my procedure was approved! It’s now four days after my injection and I’m dancin’ in my wheelchair again!

Next week I’ll go into details in part two of my interview with the amazing Dr. Lai, Head of the  Pain Management Center in Rancho Mirage, Ca. who has been helping GOD to heal me.    https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/my-exclusive-interview-with-doctor-albert-lai-on-stem-cells-and-prp/

When my FACEBOOK FRIEND Hunter George suggested that Lester Chambers, former lead singer of the Chambers Brothers (“TIME HAS COME TODAY”) tag me in a photo. I wrote an article about the problems he was facing along with a picture of him holding up a cardboard sign with a gold album and a desperate plea on FACEBOOK. in less than 24 hours thousands of you responded and $10,000 was raised on his behalf.  https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2012/03/05/hang-on-lester-chambers-help-is-on-the-way/ 

I spoke to Lester a few days ago and he truly is grateful to all of his FACEBOOK FRIENDS for the support they’re giving him, and is back in the studio recording a new CD.

********************************************************

My friend, cousin, and executive assistant, Sharon Link passed a list of puns that were sent in this week that gave me a chuckle, giggle and a laugh or two…

 I changed my iPod’s name to Titanic. It’s syncing now.

I stayed up all night to see where the sun went. Then it dawned on me.

Broken pencils are pointless.

I tried to catch some fog, but I mist.

I’m reading a book about anti-gravity. I just can’t put it down

Speaking of books you can’t put down…Rich Podolsky, author of “DON KIRSHNER-THE MAN WITH THE GOLDEN EAR”, who’s fresh from his trip to see Kirshner inducted posthumously into THE ROCK AND ROLL HALL OF FAME, has been making the rounds of TV and Radio Talk including the Scott Shannon show on the True Oldies Channel, the Jerry Blavat show, Gary Brian at KRTH and Joe Cortese WODS, Boston.

With the recent passings of Davy Jones and Dick Clark, Rich’s book has taken on new meaning and has been mentioned by Cindy Addams in the N.Y. Post, with articles in the Huffington Post  http://www.huffingtonpost.com/debra-ollivier/don-kirshner-the-man-who-_b_1418556.html...the Philadelphia enquirer, the NY DAILY NEWS, as well an in-depth feature by Dawn Lee Wakefield of the NATIONAL EXAMINER. http://www.examiner.com/article/the-rock-n-roll-side-of-rich-podolsky-sportswriter-pens-don-kirshner-biography

I was just about to close the comments section to my Dick Clark Tribute when Roger McGuinn, Diane Warren, Artie Kornfeld, Ben Fong Torres, Lou Christie, all made last minute contributions, perhaps you would too. Just click onto https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2012/04/19/dick-clark-r-i-p-rock-in-perpetuity/ 

Transtions

My condolences to the family and friends of songwriter/ publisher/ author Jay Warner who passed away this week May You Rock In Perpetuity!

WARNER, Jay 66, six time Grammy winning music publisher, author and music historian and first publisher to be entered into The Congressional Record for his contributions to the music industry, passed away on Monday, April 23 after a long illness. In a four decade career as a general professional manager in the music publishing industry, Jay worked with such notable companies and people as Sidney Seidenberg, legendary manager of Gladys Knight & The Pips and B.B. King, Wes Farrell’s music publishing empire, “The Entertainment Company” (Charles Koppleman) and K-Tel Records. Jay was named to ASCAP’s West Coast advisory board, where he served for more than twenty years. Warner represented writers, artists and celebrities as diverse as Bruce Springsteen, Rick James and Teena Marie and has published over 100 Top 40 hits including “Blinded By The Light” (Manfred Mann), “Born to Run” (Bruce Springsteen), “Up, Up and Away’ (5th Dimension, “People Gotta Be Free” (The Rascals), “Dawn” (Four Seasons), “It’s A Miracle” (Barry Manilow), “Knock Three Times” (Tony Orlando), “Midnight Train to Georgia” (Gladys Knight & The Pips), “Groovin” (The Rascals), “Who Loves You” (Four Seasons), “Cold Blooded” (Rick James) and Hammer’s #1 single “U Can’t Touch This” and many more. 
In 1978, Jay wrote the first, in-depth text on publishing, song-writing and copyright law in layman’s terms, “How To Have Your Hit Song Published” (Hal Leonard). In 1993, Warner’s encyclopedic work, “The Billboard Book of American Singing Groups, A History 1940-1990” was published to rave reviews as the ultimate resource on the subject. In 2004, Jay started a new series of books with “On This Day In Music History”, with a foreword written by Beatles producer, Sir George Martin. In 2006, he wrote “On This Day In Black Music History”, with a foreword written by Grammy winner, Quincy Jones. And in 2008, Jay wrote “Notable Moments of Women in Music”, with a foreward written by Grammy winner Melissa Etheridge. He is survived by his wife, Jacqueline and stepson, Jonathan. Funeral Services, 1:00 P.M., Thursday, April 26, Eden Memorial Park, Mission Hills. Malinow and Silverman Mortuary 800.710.7100

Published in the Los Angeles Times on April 25, 2012

FINALLY HERE IS MY COLLECTION OF VIDEOS BY THE BEE GEES THAT HAVE BEEN CALLED THE BEST ON THE INTERNET…THANK YOU ROBIN, BARRY, MAURICE, AND ANDY YOU’VE ENRICHED OUR LIVES HERE ON EARTH MORE THAN YOU’LL EVER KNOW! https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2009/06/20/top-30-bee-gee-videos-for-free/

Highest regards, Artie Wayne   artiewayne@gmail.com

Thanks to Doc Remer, Patti Dahlstrom, Dawn Lee Wakefield, and Rich Podolsky for helping me put this article together

 Copyright 2012 by Artie Wayne  https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/celebrating-two-million-views-today-on-artie-wayne-on-the-web/

NOW YOU CAN BUY THE ARTIE WAYNE BOOK ,“I DID IT FOR A SONG” AT AMAZON or Barnes & Noble or from Smashwords

TO READ SOME OF THE AMAZING AND INSPIRING COMMENTS  CLICK  HERE

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB  https://artiewayne.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

