MANDI MARTIN R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY!

May 1, 2012

When I moved to LA in 1970, to work as a songplugger for VIVA Music, my new songwriter friend Alan O’Day (“THE DRUM”) took me to a weekly meeting of the LA SONGWRITERS SHOWCASE, where I met Len Chandler,John Brahaney andMandi Martin for the first time. I was impressed by the loving support system they built for new and seasoned songwriters to shield themselves from the harsh reality of the music business, while they developed their craft.

Over the years Mandy and John, helped me out whenever I needed it, from showcasing my writers at Warner Brothers and Irving/Almo music to finding me new writers when I went into business for myself.

Last week, I was saddened when my long time friend Alan O’Day (“UNDERCOVER ANGEL”, “ANGIE BABY”) e-mailed me that Mandi Martin is facing some serious health issues and is in transition.

Alan writes, “I am keeping a private vigil for my critically ill friend Mandi Martin. At this moment she is surrounded by friends at her home who are giving her love and prayers and laughter. She has lost the ability to talk, but she can hear the marathon party going on around her.

 What an extraordinary send off!”

On Sunday I was told by the voices inside of me to put up my article as quickly as I could…on Monday morning at 8:30 Mandy made her transition to the other side.

Since it takes three days for the departing Spirit to leave the Earth, we have 48 more hours to say goodbye. This morning as I checked FACEBOOK I found these posts…

This is Matthew, Mandi’s son. I first want to thank everyone for the mountains of love, support, and stories of love and heart you have shared about and of my mother. I am deeply touched she is so loved. My mother wanted me to tell everyone she was the richest person in the world from the relationships and life she led. I am speechless when I try to think of a way to say THANK YOU ! To all the very special people who played music for Mom these last days, WOW!. I have never seen anything like it and I am amazed by your ability to give when it counted the most. I love all of you special people, very special people! I have received so much love and support from all of you, it is mind boggling how many friends Mom has. 

Again, thanks, and may my mother rest peacefully and gods love and an obvious need of a new producer for the orchestra that reflect the sounds of heaven.

Matthew

“While our beloved friend Mandi was still lucid I had one last talk with her. She said “I don’t want to go. I have too much to do yet.” This would probably be how we’ll all feel facing our end. I offered her some perspective that I hoped would make it easier for her.

“Mandi, what’s happening is that you got spoiled. You’ve lived a life that most people in this world could only dream about. You got to live your life not only creating music that moved those who heard it, but to help many, many others do the same. You got to live your life surrounded by love — by friends who would go out of their way to help you because they knew you would do it for them or you had already helped them. You gave them warm companionship and a sympathetic ear when they needed it. You ALWAYS made them laugh. You encouraged their musical dreams. You had a wonderful husband in Jerry who loved you more than anything and encouraged everything you did. So though it’s a sad time for you and all of us who love you, you can justly feel that you’ve made a valuable contribution in your very rich life. It’s truly something to celebrate. So don’t feel sad about the time you don’t have. Be joyful for the time you did have.”

She said, “You know, you’re right.” And I think that, despite her sadness, she got past it for a moment. I also think that in her last few days the procession of friends coming to tell her goodbye, recall their stories with her, play music for her and to express their love made it easier for her to let go. Thank you all for that!

And I add this now. Mandi, knowing you’ll hear this too.

Len Chandler and I personally thank you for the thousands of hours you contributed to the Los Angeles Songwriters Showcase. I won’t forget the many times we watched the sun come up putting the LASS monthly Musepaper to bed in time to race to the printer. Thousands of songwriters can thank you for creating the system for our 22 Songwriters Expos that insured that as many writers as possible got heard. And every year you organized the volunteers, “Mandi’s Expo Elves” to get it done. You were always a vital, creative and tireless part of our team and an unparalleled evangelist for LASS. You inspired everyone with 3 pinball marathons and world records. (Mandi’s take on this tells you a lot about who she is:http://mandimartinmusic.com/blog/pinball-marathon-wrap-up/). I got to be part of your “crew” all 3 times.

For 38 years I got to share your love and friendship. I’ve been privileged to have been part of so many aspects of your life and both JoAnn and I have cherished your friendship, love and laughter more than you’ll know.

John Brahaney

 

Dear Mandi: I am thinking of you and praying for you. You are always in my heart.
Love,
Brooks Arthur

 

R.I.P. PINBALL WIZARD AND ALL ROUND LOVELY PERSON MANDI MARTIN. KICK THEIR ASSES IN HEAVEN!

DIANE WARREN

 

THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING YOU’VE GIVEN US…MAY YOU ROCK IN PERPETUITY!

RESPECTFULLY, ARTIE WAYNE  https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/celebrating-two-million-views-today-on-artie-wayne-on-the-web/ 

Here’s a song Patti Dahlstrom and I wrote for our late friend Jim Croce. we’d also like to dedicate it to Mandi.”SENDING MY GOOD THOUGHTS TO YOU”

LET’S KEEP THE CELEBRATION GOING… SCROLL DOWN TO COMMENTS BELOW THE ARTICLE, CLICK ON AND LEAVE A MESSAGE TO MANDI OR SHARE SOME OF HER LAST MOMENTS WITH US.

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB  https://artiewayne.wordpress.com

6 Responses to “MANDI MARTIN R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY!”

  1. Loni Specter Says:

    I’ll miss you and sushi lunches and homemade soups and beautiful spirit that will always be with me. Whenever I think I have a new tune in my head, I always ask myself, would it make Mandi smile? Sweat dreams.

  2. John Braheny Says:

    Thanks for including my eulogy to Mandi, Artie. She was one of a kind. And my best wishes to YOU. You were always a big supporter of LASS.

  3. TAXI MUSIC Says:

    Transcribed from an email from Taxi music…

    Dear Passengers,

    Mandi Martin was larger than life, and sadly, after a very tough and heroic battle with cancer, she left us far too early yesterday.

    Mandi was an unconditional lover of music and the people who make it. Her passion for songwriters and artists was truly something to behold. She loved nothing more than championing those who needed it most. To say that she touched thousands of lives is an understatement.

    I met Mandi in the weeks just prior to the launch of TAXI more than twenty years ago. Legendary song coach John Braheny introduced me to her when I needed help with some graphic work on the first edition of TAXI’s member booklet.

    She was hysterically loud and funny, tireless in everything she did, and had a heart so large that everybody she knew seemed to have a room of their own inside it. Mandi was fearless and unstoppable. All of us who had the great fortune to know her were amazed by her sheer force of will.

    She was brash yet tender–a tireless businessperson who never lost the spirit of the Summer of Love. Her love for all things music actually HAD no season! Mandi was a life long ambassador for everything that is right and beautiful about music.

    Fare thee well Mandi, and thank you for sharing your endless passion and considerable talent with us. You made every minute of your time on Earth count. Rock and Roll Heaven just got a new mayor!

    Rest in peace,
    Michael

  4. Jelsa Palao Says:

    Thank you Mandi for many hours of laughter, fun and always interesting conversation. Never a dull moment with you around. I’ll miss you my friend.
    Love, Jelsa


  5. Mandi, you changed my life and you know it, as documented many times in my book. But even more, you were a true friend to so many of us. Your passion for songs, songwriting, producing, people and this crazy business will continue to inspire generations to come. Your wit and ability to find the humor in everything and your to-the-core kindness are
    are ours to keep. Thank you for this legacy.

  6. Sandy Ross Says:

    Mandi. . .I came but I couldn’t sing. I smiled, but I couldn’t laugh. But I knew you knew how very much I loved you. RIP my good friend, RIP.


Leave a Reply

