“DOC” WATSON R.I.P. MAY YOU ROLL IN PERPETUITY!

June 2, 2012

Musicians honor “Doc” Watson’s influence

By MARTHA WAGGONER, Associated Press

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. — You could hear the mountains of North Carolina in “Doc” Watson’s music. The rush of a mountain stream, the steady creak of a mule in leather harness plowing rows in topsoil and the echoes of ancient sounds made by a vanishing people were an intrinsic part of the folk musician’s powerful, homespun sound.

It took Watson decades to make a name for himself outside the world of Deep Gap, N.C. Once he did, he ignited the imaginations of countless guitar players who learned the possibilities of the instrument from the humble picker who never quite went out of style. From the folk revival of the 1960s to the Americana movement of the 21st century, Watson remained a constant source of inspiration and a treasured touchstone before his death Tuesday at age 89.

Blind from the age of 1, Watson was left to listen to the world around him and it was as if he heard things differently from others. Though he knew how to play the banjo and harmonica from an early age, he came to favor the guitar. His flat-picking style helped translate the fiddle- and mandolin-dominated music of his forebears for an audience of younger listeners who were open to the tales that had echoed off the mountains for generations,for the rest of the article click onto  http://www.wral.com/entertainment/story/11151047/

MY FRIEND HUNTER GEORGE ASKED IF I COULD MAKE A TRIBUTE TO MOUNTAIN AND FOLK  MUSIC LEGEND “DOC” WATSON, WHO PASSED AWAY THIS WEEK…I SAID, “HUNTER I COULD…BUT WHY DON’T YOU?”

“DOC” WATSON R.I.P.  MAY YOU ROLL IN PERPETUITY!

Rolling In My Sweet Baby’s Arms
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IKjnMMMYE-c&sns=fb

Black Mountain Rag
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XdUrg2Cqxdw&sns=fb

I’ll Fly Away
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvyXBPaC89c&sns=

Sittin On Top Of The World
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OtfHkqdSEDc&feature=share

I never met Doc Watson, but I knew his music well. Anyone who grew up in North Carolina and particularly in the mountains knew Doc’s music. It wasn’t Bluegrass music. It was traditional mountain music plus whatever else Doc wanted to play. I will let my son Ryan help me finish this as he met Doc and said it well.
 
“From my Son Ryan George: I’m going to leave you all with one final Doc Watson song in my little tribute to his life and music, a song I think very fitting to finish with. You see, Doc was a Godly man with a strong faith. He was proud of his faith and lived his life as he thought God would’ve wanted him to. Hope you enjoy it…. Doc, I’ve enjoyed your music. RIP.”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dUDwAgApoQw&sns=fb 

“Doc” Watson R.I.P. MAY YOU ROLL IN PERPETUITY 

RESPECTFULLY, HUNTER GEORGE

For Artie Wayne on the Web

Copyright 2012 by Artie Wayne

NOW YOU CAN BUY MY BOOK , “I DID IT FOR A SONG” AT AMAZON or Barnes & Noble or from Smashwords

OR YOU CAN USE PAY PAL TO BUY IT DIRECTLY FROM ME FOR ONLY $9.99 AT artiewayne@gmail.com 

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB  https://artiewayne.wordpress.com

One Response to ““DOC” WATSON R.I.P. MAY YOU ROLL IN PERPETUITY!”


  1. On my very first tour across the United States, our first stop was Denver for a week of shows, 2 per night. Artie, if you remember, you flew out to join us for a few days. It was only the second time I had sung in public, though I was promoting my second album. Doc Watson was the star on the bill. He was so kind to me, to all of my band, Al Staehely, Steve Lawrence, Michael Knust and the fabulous pianist, Mark Stein. It was a great time, still I was very nervous with obvious stage fright. Doc put me so at ease telling me it was natural and “a little nerves are good for the show.” HIs son, Merle, toured with him playing along side him and helping him get around. Both were so lovely, and my heart goes out to his family, first for the loss of Merle in 1985 just 12 years after these Denver days and now losing the talented and beloved Doc. Heaven is a better place for their presence.


Leave a Reply

