EVERYTHING OLD IS “NEWS” AGAIN! #12 MICHAEL JACKSON, GRACELAND ANNIVERSARY, BRIAN WILSON AT 70!

June 22, 2012

 

I’M HAPPY TO SAY THAT 80% OF MY WEBSITE HAS BEEN RECOVERED AND PHOTOGRAPHED BY MY FRIEND TOM DIEHL. AND THANKS TO ALL OF YOU WHO RUSHED TO MY AID WITH SERVICES THAT LOCATE DELETED WEBSITES.

 

BUT ENOUGH FRIVOLITY…NOW BACK TO THE MUSIC!

It isn’t very often that I’m shocked at the passing of one of our musical heroes, but when I heard about Michael Jackson I was devastated. I’ve known Michael since he was 12 years old and he recorded a song I co-wrote, “Little Christmas Tree” (Clinton/Wayne)

I met him and his family at the Tokyo Music Festival in 1974, and had a chance to tell him how much I liked his recording of my song. I also told him that he was one of my biggest dance influences, which made him smile considering I was three times his age.

When I told Michael that I was a songplugger and I couldn’t go out dancing late at night like I once did, he said in that high little voice of his, “Artie…why don’t you build a dance floor in your office?”.

As soon as I got back to Hollywood, Warner Brothers Music built me a four foot circular plywood dance floor, but a few months later when I went to run A&Ms publishing company they constructed a six foot mahogany one for me! To this day I’m proud to tell everyone that it was Michael Jackson’s idea.

The last time I was in touch with him was when he was about to do the “Thriller” album. He was holding onto one of my songs for over a year, and even made a few suggestions to improve the bridge, but in the end he didn’t record it. I was still grateful for the opportunity.

From now until the end of time millions of words will be written about him and his influence in music, dance, and fashion, but the most important gift he has given the world is everlasting hope and inspiration!

AND HERE IS MICHAEL’S CROWNING ACHIEVEMENT “WE ARE THE WORLD”         http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AMO4tuhq9eE

I’VE NEVER BEEN TO GRACELAND, BUT I KINDA’ LIKE THE MUSIC!

WITH THE 25TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE OPENING OF GRACELAND TO THE PUBLIC, TIME-WARNER JUST RELEASED 24 PHOTOS OF A YOUNG ELVIS PRESLEY LIKE YOU’VE NEVER SEEN HIM BEFORE!http://life.time.com/icons/elvis-presley-rare-early-photos/#

NOW HERE IS ALL ABOUT ELVIS WEEK http://www.elvis.com/elvisweek/

BACK IN 1969 I WAS DETERMINED TO BE DISCOVERED AND BECOME A ROCK AND ROLL STAR SO I SNUCK BACKSTAGE AT AN ALAN FREED ROCK AND ROLL SHOW BEGGING THE PERFORMERS TO LISTEN TO MY SONGS. ONE OF THE FIRST PEOPLE TO LISTEN AND ENCOURAGE ME WAS JANET VOGEL FROM THE SKYLINERS (“SINCE I DON’T HAVE YOU”) WHO HAS A MOVIE COMING OUT ABOUT HER LIFE. HERE’S THE TRAILER FOR IT.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0s4jQmHgph4

NOW IN THE TRADITION OF ED SULLIVAN WHO INEXPLICABLY WOULD HAVE AN ANIMAL ACT BETWEEN POP PERFORMERS HERE IS THE BEST DOG ACT I’VE EVER SEEN!HERE ARE THE OLATES FROM   “AMERICA’S GOT TALENT” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a-E8QKUOhFY&feature=topics

When I first went to London in 1965, Bess Coleman – one of the Beatles’ press officers and one of my co-writers – introduced me to Shel Talmy, a five star general in the British invasion of the pop culture. I was anxious to meet the legend who discovered, inspired and produced the WHO, the KINKS, , the EASYBEATS, CHAD and JEREMY. About an hour before I met him, I was shocked to find out that he was a fellow American! When I knocked on his apartment door, in fashionable Knightsbridge, his beautiful assistant led me down a long hallway that was filled on both sides with more gold singles and albums than I’d ever seen in one place! As I sat sipping tea in his office, I heard someone playing a guitar and singing in the other room. The door opened, Shel introduced himself, as well as the singer I heard through the walls, CAT STEVENS, who was there to play a couple of his new songs. Over the years Shel and I became good friends. He was one of the few people I could play a song for and get some good constructive criticism. Here he shares some stories and insights with me in my revealing Spectropop interview. Just click onto http://spectropop.com/sheltalmy/index.htm

BROOKS ARTHUR REMINDED ME THAT TODAY IS DICK LaPALM’S BIRTHDAY! (pictured here with Tony Bennett)

” Dick LaPalm … Is the dean of recording studio managers & business partners. When I first moved to LA ci1975/76 … The very first recording studio I worked in was Village Recorders. Introduced to me by my dear friend Richard Perry who was Producing Art Garfunkel and I was Richard’s recording engineer. The late Andrew Gold played drums & guitar … Art vocalized “I Only Have Eyes For You” … Dick La Palm would pop into the studio, smile, “loving the groove” and whisper to the tech’s to check a certain piece of gear KNOWING it wasn’t performing to capacity. An eagle eye!

Dick is a jazzer. He appreciated a good groove, no matter the genre. Dick welcomed me in and connected me to the greatest musicians & studio talent.Dick LaPalm also helped to shape the LA CHAPTER OF NARAS! DLP is as much a part of record making as any A&R man, musician, engineer & producer! BRAVO DLP!

Happy Birthday my friend”

Brooks Arthur

BRIAN WILSON CELEBRATES HIS 70th BIRTHDAY BACKSTAGE IN MONTREAL!

By Patrick Doyle  Rolling Stone Magazine

Brian Wilson turned 70 yesterday, but he’s busier than ever. He’s currently zig-zagging across the country on the reunited Beach Boys’ world tour, and the band just released their first album in two decades. So how does Wilson feel about turning 70?

“Are you kidding?” he tells Rolling Stone. “I feel great! I don’t think I look or act 70. I feel more like I’m in my mid-forties.”

Wilson celebrated with a party backstage during a tour stop at Montreal’s Bell Centre, where he was gifted with a cake resembling the album cover to the Beach Boys’ new LP, Thats Why God Made The Radio. As the audience broke into “Happy Birthday,” balloons sent by Wilson’s wife surrounded him onstage. Earlier that day, Wilson received a call from his old buddy Paul McCartney, who celebrated his own 70th birthday two days earlier. “[Paul] said, ‘Happy birthday, friend!” Wilson says. “I said, ‘Happy birthday to you, Paul.’ He told me he was headed into Abbey Road. I told him we were on our way to Montreal. I think he said something like, ‘Can you believe we made it this far?’ It was very pleasant and sweet.’

Read more: http://www.rollingstone.com/music/news/the-beach-boys-brian-wilson-i-dont-think-i-look-or-act-70-20120621#ixzz1yWzdH0uS

EXTRA!! “BEATLE” BOB MATONIS POSTED THIS MORNING…

To help celebrate Brian Wilson’s birthday, I’ve selected a rare track – “Can’t Wait Too Long” – that was originally written by Brian and work on from 1967-68 but never officially released until 1990. It’s a mesmerizing and hypnotic track that consists of an elaborate collection of vocal and instrumental tracks comparable to the group’s earlier hit “Good Vibrations”. It includes a main melody line played instrumentally, plus several sections of chorus and a vocal middle section. Totally captivating. <http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nHXGvDP8iLI >

A LOT OF PEOPLE SAY I’M BECOMING AN ALARMIST AND I TELL THEM I’M JUST A CYBER REALIST. READ WHAT HAPPENED TO MY FRIEND CHIYOKO LOUISE GOSSEN…

“I was on Facebook one day, and I see a “message” from one of my FB friends that they saw a sexy video I was in and how surprised they were. That “friend” sent me a link so I could see the video. The first thing I noticed was the typos. Several of them. Then I thought “what sexy video? Or any video, for that matter?”, so I clicked on the link. OMG The virus was almost instantaneous. I had to shut down my computer. It was all messed up. Luckily, at the time, I was teaching at a college, and we had a computer class along with a computer lab where I could get my computer fixed for free. So I took it in. The head computer guy, Jose, was very informative. When I told him about the link I had clicked on, he explained that it was a virus that was being circulated in FB. He said it looks like it’s coming from one of your friends (like it did to me) but it isn’t. He said you could tell that it was a virus by the typos. Needless to say, when I got back on my computer, I immediately posted this info on my FB. And whenever I saw it on FB after that, I would warn everybody again. If I hadn’t been working where I could get my computer fixed for free, I would have ended up paying around $300.”

REMEMBER IT’S ALWAYS BETTER TO BE CAREFUL THAN TO BE SORRY !

I HOPE YOU ENJOYED THIS EDITION OF “EVERYTHING OLD IS NEWS AGAIN”. CURRENTLY MY ONLY SOURCE OF INCOME IS FROM THE SALE OF MY BOOK. ” I DID IT FOR A SONG”, WHICH I RECEIVE IMMEDIATELY.  IF YOU LIKE WHAT I’M WRITING I HOPE YOU’LL CONSIDER BUYING ONE DIRECTLY FROM ME THROUGH PAYPAL FOR ONLY $9.99 AT artiewayne@gmail.com 

TO READ SOME OF THE REVIEWS AND COMMENTS  CLICK  HERE

AND NOW YOU CAN BUY MY BOOK, “I DID IT FOR A SONG” DIRECTLY FROM ME THROUGH PAYPAL FOR ONLY $9.99 AT artiewayne@gmail.com 

THANKS AND REGARDS, ARTIE

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/

3 Responses to “EVERYTHING OLD IS “NEWS” AGAIN! #12 MICHAEL JACKSON, GRACELAND ANNIVERSARY, BRIAN WILSON AT 70!”

  1. Trade Martin Says:

    Sensational post Artie. I enjoyed it….!!! Glad things are going well. THANKS.

  2. Steve Owen Says:

    Carbonite, Artie….That way you’ll never lose anything again…
    Regards,
    Steveo

  3. Brian L. Says:

    Artie may have been the victim in the recent loss of his website content, but it is us, the readers, who are the victims of the loss of content here.

    Artie recently deleted an ENTIRE BLOG POST…..the one in which he trashed his former friend. The whole post, and all the comments that followed mysteriously vanished from this blog a couple days ago!

    Deleting posts and comments after the fact is totally at odds with what blogging is supposed to be all about.

    We have seen the dark side of Artie Wayne. Don’t trust what you read here. It’s c onstantly being edited and censored to change the spin.

    Everything old…..that Artie decides later he doesn’t like……is GONE again!

    What a joke.


Leave a Reply

