HAL DAVID R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY!

September 6, 2012

I WAS DEEPLY SADDENED BY THE PASSING OF LYRICST HAL DAVID  “CLOSE TO YOU”, “ALFIE”, “WHAT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW”, AND DOZENS MORE WITH HIS LONG TIME WRITING PARTNER, BURT BACHARACH.

HE WAS ONE OF THE MOST PICTURESQUE WRITERS OF OUR GENERATION AND STIRRED MEMORIES AND EMOTIONS OF MILLIONS. HE WAS ONE OF MY PERSONAL HEROES, AND WHEN HE CALLED ME BY NAME FROM TIME TO TIME I FELT I’D BEEN ACCEPTED IN SOME KIND OF EXCLUSIVE CLUB!

“In 1966, day after I had open heart surgery (back in N.Y.), Jackie deShannon called me from a recording studio, where she was working with Burt and Hal, to see how I was. She had the engineer play the backing track she was working on….and sang “What The World Needs Now Is Love” to me over the phone. I can’t tell you how much that meant to me…. I actually made medical history by walking around 36 hours after my operation!”

GOD BLESS YOU HAL DAVID R. I. P. MAY YOU ROCK IN PERPETUITY!

RESPECTFULLY, ARTIE

Copyright 2012 by Artie Wayne

CURRENTLY MY ONLY SOURCE OF INCOME IS FROM THE SALE OF MY BOOK. ” I DID IT FOR A SONG”, WHICH I RECEIVE IMMEDIATELY. I HOPE YOU’LL CONSIDER BUYING ONE DIRECTLY FROM ME THROUGH PAYPAL FOR ONLY $9.99 AT  artiewayne@gmail.com OR BY CHECK TO…ARTIE WAYNE  P.O. BOX 1105, DESERT HOT SPRINGS, CALIFORNIA 92240

THANKS AND REGARDS, ARTIE WAYNE https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/celebrating-two-million-views-today-on-artie-wayne-on-the-web/

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB https://artiewayne.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

