EVERYTHING OLD IS “NEWS” AGAIN! #7 FACEBOOK IPO FLOP…BANDSTAND DANCERS BOP…BODEMEISTER ON TOP!

May 19, 2012

HAVING BEEN NEARLY MANAGED BY DISC JOCKEY ALAN FREED, AND HAVING RECORDED FOR A LABEL THAT DICK CLARK ONCE HAD A FINANCIAL INTEREST IN, I WAS CURIOUS ABOUT THE DVD THAT EVERYBODY IS TALKING ABOUT!… “AIRPLAY:THE RISE AND FALL OF ROCK RADIO” AND THE BIG PAYOLA SCANDAL!

BELIEVE ME…I WASN’T DISAPPOINTED! HERE’S THE TRAILER. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bbu9zI5yuR0

Some of you asked how, after my recent “so long” due to my old computer giving out, I’m able to continue working on a borrowed laptop.  I’m happy to say that within hours there were several offers to replace my old computer, as a gift!  I find this rather overwhelming, and also an example of the compassion and generosity of my readers and FACEBOOK FRIENDS. To those who offered, or even sent a positive thought my way, I just wanted to say a heartfelt THANKS, while waiting for my desktop computer to arrive.

Menlo Park, Calif.

( Zef Nikolla / Facebook / May 18, 2012 )

Mark Zuckerberg, chief executive officer of Facebook Inc., center, Sheryl Sandberg, chief operating officer of Facebook, center left, and Robert Greifeld, chief executive officer of Nasdaq OMX Group Inc., center right, remotely ring the opening bell for trading at the Nasdaq MarketSite from the Facebook campus in Menlo Park, Calif. Facebook Inc. began trading Friday after a record initial public offering that made the social network more valuable than almost every company in the Standard & Poor’s 500 Index.
+
Walter Hamilton, Jessica Guynn and Tiffany Hsu, of the mark zuckerberg, Los Angeles Times report
*
 
There wasn’t much to like about Facebook’s first day as a public company.The social media giant’s stock rose by mere pennies in its initial public offering. The shares closed at $38.23, barely above the $38 IPO price.The performance fell far short of the grandiose expectations of Wall Street and Silicon Valley, and raised questions about whether the company’s stock will be the sure bet many had counted on.“There was all this pressure and hype and attention with all eyes on Facebook — and the starlet tripped on the red carpet,” said Max Wolff, an analyst at GreenCrest Capital Management in New York.

What went wrong? Analysts point to a variety of factors that might have given investors pause. Its valuation at about 100 times earnings likely struck some as too high. Its growth in new users is slowing. And Facebook has not yet found a way to cash in on mobile devices, where social media is gravitating.

This week’s decision by General Motors Co. to stop advertising on Facebook because it wasn’t getting results heightened concerns about how Facebook can profit from its 900 million users.

But perhaps the biggest blunders came in recent days as the company and its largest shareholders moved to maximize their profits at the expense of new investors.

On Monday, Facebook raised the stock’s projected price to a range of $34 to $38 from the initial $28 to $35, and priced it at the peak of $38 on Thursday. That made Facebook far more expensive than established competitors such as Apple Inc. and Google Inc. based on the companies’ earnings.

On Wednesday, the company announced that longtime investors led by Goldman Sachs planned to sell big chunks of their holdings in the IPO. That struck some investors as greedy and a sign that Wall Street insiders were getting out while they could.

“There was a lot of smart money dumping it,” said Barry Ritholtz, chief executive of research firm Fusion IQ.

That added to fears among professionals and individuals who were burned by the late-1990s dot-com boom and subsequent stock-market crash. For the complete story click onto http://www.latimes.com/business/la-fi-facebook-ipo-20120519,0,6863952.story

I SUPPOSE I WAS NAÏVE IN WANTING TO THANK MARK ZUCKERBERG FOR CREATING FACEBOOK THINKING HE AND HIS UBER ELITIST ORGANIZATION MIGHT ACTUALLY APPRECIATE THE GESTURE.

SO I COLLECTED STORIES FROM ABOUT 100 FRIENDS OF MINE, WHO ALSO BENEFITED FROM THE SOCIAL NETWORK INCLUDING; ARTIE KORNFELD “THE FATHER OF WOODSTOCK”, SCOTT SHANNON (TRUE OLDIES CHANNEL), DAWN LEE WAKEFIELD “(NATIONAL EXAMINER), RUSS REGAN (FORMER CEO UNI RECORDS AND 20TH CENTURY RECORDS), ALAN O’DAY (“UNDERCOVER ANGEL”), DON ORIOLLO (FELIX THE CAT), ART MUNSON (MUSIC LIBRARY REPORT), STEPHEN-CRAIG AREISTI (FILM MUSIC SUPERVISOR), JOEL DIAMOND (PRODUCER).

TO READ ALL THE COMMENTS CLICK ONTO https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2011/06/17/facebook-friends-appreciation-day/#comments

IN ALMOST A YEAR, SINCE I POSTED THE ARTICLE, I’VE TRIED TO GET IT TO MARK AND HIS FACEBOOK PALS UNFORTUNATELY WITHOUT ANY SUCCESS.

AFTER I POSTED MY TRIBUTE TO DICK CLARK (WHICH HAS BEEN CALLED “THE BEST ON THE INTERNET”), MY LONGTIME FRIEND AND PUBLICIST BOBBI COWAN PUT ME IN TOUCH WITH BUNNY GIBSON, ONE OF THE ORIGINAL “AMERICAN BANDSTAND DANCERS…

May 19, 2012

Dick Clark said that the most frequently asked question was “Whatever happened to.the American Bandstand regulars)”.  Dick said he wished he had a nickel for every time he was asked that question throughout the years.

Dick was like a father figure to all of us.  American Bandstand became our home.  It was more of a home for some of us than our own homes.  There was a life force that I felt the first time i entered the two green doors of “Studio B” at 46th & Market Streets in Philadelphia.  it was magical and I felt it was home for me.  For the first time, I felt like I belonged.
 
My life was forever changed that day when I was thirteen and decided toplay hooky from school and find my way to American Bandstand.  That first day on the show, I was so excited and nervous, I just sat in the bleachers watching Dick Clark and the regulars I saw dancing on television from my home in Darby, Pennsylvania:  I was in awe seeing, in person, Dick, Arlene & Kenny, Carol Scaldeferri, Frani Giordana, the Beltrante sisters, Eddie Kelly, Johnny Alamia, Steve Colarnero and all the other famous dancers!
 
When Eddie Kelly’s partner, Mary Ann Cuff, didn’t show up one day, Eddie asked me to dance.  I was thrilled and all the practicing with my bannister and refrigerator door paid off as we jitterbugged well together. We were both tall so we had a good fit.
I became a “Regular”.  It was official when I received my first fan letter.  It was the first of many and soon I would see myself in teen magazines listed in “Popularity Polls” along with Elvis and the other great rock ‘n’ roll artists of the day.  Magazine articles were written for me like “Social Butterflies are for the Birds” in “16″ Magazine and it was always a surprise to see what article I wrote but didn’t write!

But the biggest surprise AB gave me was the day Don Travarelli saw me dancing on the show.  He fell in love with me watching me dance and set out to come to the show after he practiced his dancing with his niece, Robin.  Don was twenty years old and never managed to get into the show because the age requirements were 14 to 18, but he did find a way to meet me and the rest is history!  

Dick Clark and American Bandstand played “Cupid” in my life and Don and I were married.  I was sixteen at the time and had my Mom’s permission to marry just as long as I finished high school, which I did.

Don and I had two daughters, Angel and Maria, and now four grandchildren: Lea, Chirstopher, Alexis & Nicole.  I am glad Don watched AB and not another channel!

Dancing on Bandstand has come full circle for me as I became an actress and dancer eventually moving to Los Angeles.  I felt blessed to be on “Glee”, “How I Met your Mother”, “The Back-up Plan” and “CSI – Las Vegas” as a dancer.  I was more excited than anyone on the set remembering my teenage years dancing on Bandstand. 

Recently, being on “Dancing with the Stars” was another special moment going full circle from being on the #1 dance show as a teenager in Philly to the #1 dance show in 2012.  DWTS gave a special Tribute to Dick Clark and we were honored to be a part of that Tribute. Carrie Ann Inaba became an “Honorary Bandstand Club” member that day and she said “If it wasn’t for us, there wouldn’t be a “Dancing with the Stars”.  Now that is quite an honor- thank you Dick! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPRzpRNjWos

As an actress, I have many credits on television and film.  My recent films are “Lola’s Love Shack” and “The Killing of Leonard Riley” and just recently shot a “Goya” commercial in Puerto Rico. And, for charity, I’ve hosted the American Heart Associations’s “Heart Ball”,  ”America on Wheels” Museum Gala and many other events. My next Rock ‘n’ Roll event, created by Frank Cona, will be for the Veterans in Detroit and will feature the Edsel, Mitch Rider and “The Reflections”.

One of the best “full circle” moments in my life is when i hold “Dance Contests” for foster children through “Day of the Child”.  Each year, I have the pleasure of seeing one thousand foster children come to the event, (some of them not feeling good about themselves) and leaving the event feeling the “joy of dancing” and the “joy of how special they are inside”.  At the end of the day, nobody wants to stop dancing!  Each child is a “Winner” in my contest.  All they have to do is “shake their booty” and they get a “prize”.  I raise these prizes throughout the year and welcome all support for “prizes” and being a “mentor” for these precious foster children.

Looking back when I first came out to California in the “80′s”, I went to see Dick at DC Productions. When he saw me walk through the door, he didn’t say “hello”.  Dick said “I knew I’d see you again”.  I think when Dick saw my smiling face dancing in 1959 and he saw that smile continue as I danced to 1961, he knew I would be back in front of the cameras.  He could see my dancing joy and happiness – which has lasted a lifetime.

Thank you Dick.  Thank you American Bandstand.  There is a life “Beyond Bandstand”, but the experience of dancing on American Bandstand has lasted a lifetime. 
 
(For some fun memories, visit my website:   www.BunnyGibson.com)  and you can write me at Bunny@BunnyGibson.com
 
Thank you Artie Wayne for helping me to share my memories of Dick Clark, American Bandstand and the impact it has had on my life!
YOU CAN SEE BUNNY GIBSON AND THE AMERICAN BANDSTAND DANCERS THIS SUNDAY AT THE GREEK THEATER MAY 20 FOR THE K-EARTH 101 MUSIC FESTIVAL AIDS BENEFIT STARRING K.C. AND THE SUNSHINE BAND.
*
For 30 years I believed Elvis Presley said, “ALL COLORED PEOPLE CAN DO FOR ME IS SHINE MY SHOES AND BUY MY RECORDS”, until my friend Scott Shannon (True Oldies Channel) set me straight!  https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2012/05/16/everything-old-is-news-again-5-rock-roll-racism-part-two-american-bandstand-dancers/
*
TRANSITIONS…DONNA SUMMER R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY !

May 17, 2012

I was shocked and saddened to hear that Donna Summer passed away this morning. We were label mates on CASABLANCA RECORDS, and I had the privilege of watching her become the QUEEN OF DISCO, while doing my own album for Neil Bogart.

The first time I met Donna, it was at a press party at a small club on Wilshire in LA where she mesmerized the crowd with, “LOVE TO LOVE YOU BABY”.

I remember taking singer/songwriter Patti Dahlstrom and producer Lou Reizner with me to the event. Patti reminded me Neil brought Donna over to meet us while she was singing “Love to Love you Baby”, which was on a tape loop that played over and over. I said “Don’t they have any other songs by her?” and you laughed and said “Well, it’s the single and Neil is a helluva promotion man. When everyone walks out they will be singing it” and we were!  Soon everyone was singing it!

I was also fortunate to be an extra at the filming of “THANK GOD IT’S FRIDAY” at OSKOs in Hollywood, when she sang the Academy Award winning song “LAST DANCE”

The world looks back and mourns an artist who was more than a singer, but someone who represents an entire era of music unlike anyone else, but I remember her as one of the nicest ladies i’ve ever known in the business.

 Donna Summer R.I.P. ROCK IN PERPETUITY!

Respectfully, Artie Wayne  Copyright 2012 by Artie Wayne  https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/celebrating-two-million-views-today-on-artie-wayne-on-the-web/

Mac Arthur Park (Live in Holland)

On The Radio (Live)

Last Dance

Hot Stuff

 Bad Girls  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CbGKeyCywTY&feature=fvst                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              



Donna Summer, internationally loved singer, songwriter loses battle with cancer

Dawn Lee Wakefield's photo

 Classic Rock Music Examiner

 Donna Summer, one of the most unique, powerful vocalists of the 70s, has passed away today, as posted by TMZ within the last hour. Born LaDonna Adrian Gaines on the last day of 1948, Donna Summer was both singer and songwriter, as well as holder of the title, “Queen of Disco” through these past three decades. Billboard magazine carried a Donna Summer Top 40 hit song on their Top 100 charts consecutively from 1976 to 1984.

Nominated for 17 Grammy Awards in 20 years’ time, Summer received five Grammys in three categories: Best R&B vocal performance (“Last Dance,” 1979 and “Hot Stuff,” 1980), Best inspirational performance (“He’s a Rebel” and “Forgive Me” and Best dance recording (“Carry On).

Summer’s musical range was extensive, as was her taste in choice of songs. Her version of “MacArthur Park,” the Jimmy Webb composition (written for The Association, who turned it down, in the annals of big mistakes and bad decisions) was her first Number 1 U.S. chart hit. The song, of course, first went to Number 2 on the charts in 1968 as recorded byRichard Harris.

Although the disco world knew Summer best for hits such as “Love to Love You Baby,” “On the Radio,” “She Works Hard for the Money,” “Dim All the Lights,” “Heaven Knows,” and “Bad Girls,” she was equally accepted as a gospel singer, as in her 1982 Grammy nomination for “I Believe in Jesus.” Summer has credited producer Michael Omartian with her renewed commitment to her faith roots, and helping her to become born again. Omartian is well known as a Grammy-winning producer of Christopher Cross’ multi-Platinum self-titled album), himself a Christian songwriter, producer and recording artist.

FOR THE COMPLETE ARTICLE BY DAWN LEE WAKEFIELD OF THE NATIONAL EXAMINER  http://www.examiner.com/article/donna-summer-internationally-loved-singer-songwriter-lost-battle-with-cancer?cid=db_articles

JUST AS I WAS ABOUT TO POST THIS, MY FRIEND RUSS REGAN (FORMER CEO OF UNI AND 20TH CENTURY RECORDS) ASKED ME TO INCLUDE  A NEW ARTIST HE’S WORKING WITH JOSH TATUM. WILL HE BE THE NEXT IN THE LONG LINE OF HIT ARTISTS HE DISCOVERED INCLUDING ELTON JOHN AND BARRY WHITE?  http://www.netmusicpromotions.com/opk/joshtatum/

Congratulations to Patti and Richard Kimball on their daughter KITTY being chosen the ROCK & ROLL PUPPY OF THE WEEK!
*
CONGRATULATIONS TO BODEMEISTER FOR WINNING THE PREAKNESS…GOOD LUCK ON # THREE!
SPECIAL THANKS TO BOBBI COWAN http://bobbicowan.com, DAWN LEE WAKEFIELD  http://dawnleewakefield.com, SCOTT SHANNON http://scottshannon.com, BUNNY GIBSON http://bunny gibson.com, HUNTER GEORGE https://www.facebook.com/hhuntergeorge, PATTI DAHLSTROM http://pattidahlstrom.com, and ALAN O’DAY http://alanoday.com for helping to put this issue of EVERYTHING OLD IS “NEWS”AGAIN together.

NOW YOU CAN BUY THE ARTIE WAYNE BOOK ,“I DID IT FOR A SONG” AT AMAZON or Barnes & Noble or from Smashwords

TO READ SOME OF THE AMAZING AND INSPIRING COMMENTS  CLICK  HERE

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB  https://artiewayne.wordpress.com

Leave a comment