THE TROUBADOUR FAMILY REUNION!

January 4, 2011

When I moved to Hollywood in the early ‘70’s the Whiskey Au-go-go and the Troubadour were the sun and the moon in the Rock and Roll universe. If you were in the music business you went to the Whiskey to dance and you went to the Troubadour to hustle, hype, and hang out!

Before I started plugging songs at Warner Brothers Music, my friend Allan Rinde, who was the west coast editor of Cashbox Magazine, hired me occasionally to write live music critiques (including Don McLean and “American Pie” at the Troubadour, which was considered his first major review)

Monday night was “Hoot Night” at the legendary hot spot, it was not only a place to hear new singer/ songwriters, but also a place to “Schmooze” with all of the top music reviewers, promoters, publishers, and producers. I was the new kid in town, and to gain tenure at the bar where all the “heavies” hung out, I had to make an impression fast. One night after I took my friend Olivia Newton-John dancing at the Whiskey, I asked her to stop by the Troubadour so I could make my friends at the bar “jealous”.

Suddenly, dozens of people gathered around us, including all the hot shots acting like my long lost friends, wanting to be introduced…from then on I never had to buy my own drinks at the Troubadour ever again!

When my friend, artist/ photographer, “Lezlie Sokol”, who once was a waitress at the club told me that she is one of the organizers of the Troubadour Family Reunion, that I’d been hearing so much about, I got excited! She told me, “On Monday night, January 17, 2011, the club will celebrate the days of the Troubadour Family (1964 to 1974) and the club itself for those of us who were there when it all was going down. “The Hoot Night” and front bar regulars, the performers, former employees, and the “Underground Tastemakers” of the time are all expected to be here on this unforgettable night!”

Don’t be left out in the cold on Santa Monica Boulevard, This is a closed event and you have to make a reservation to attend. To find out more click on to www.troubadourfamilyreunion.com/

EXTRA! EXTRA! “EVERYTHING OLD IS NEWS AGAIN” When my friend Photographer Sally Stevens and I reconnected through “Lezlie Sokol” and the Troubadour Family Reunion, the name Jim Morrison and his recent pardon came up. Then Sally told me a riveting story about how her confrontation with Jim Morrison got her fired, and how it turned into a lifetime friendship with the Lizard King. I asked her if she was writing a book about this and her other amazing stories…she said she didn’t have the time. Then I told her about the joys of blogging.

In less than 24 hours, the enterprising Ms.Stevens had her blog up called “A LIFE IN THE DAY” , and she just posted part one of her shocking Jim Morrison Story; I hope you all will enjoy it as much as I did. http://rockphiles.typepad.com/a_life_in_the_day/2011/01/pardon-me-mr-morrison-.html

Regards, Artie Wayne https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/about-artie-wayne/

Copyright 2011 by Artie Wayne http://artiewayne.com

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB! https://artiewayne.wordpress.com

2 Responses to “THE TROUBADOUR FAMILY REUNION!”

  1. Wedigo Watson Says:

    Artie, thanks for letting us know about Sally Stevens…I’ve been reading her blog and enjoying her reminiscences.


  2. Its me Raymond Allen Burlew III Doug’s “SON”! youtube/Google and facebook talk to you soon.


Leave a comment