CONGRATULATIONS TO JERRY ROSS ON 50 YEARS IN THE MUSIC BUSINESS!

October 26, 2010

It’s the 50th Anniversary of my longtime friend, and sometime collaborator, producer/ songwriter Jerry Ross. After cutting classics with The Dreamlovers and The Sapphires, he had an amazing string of hits with Bobby Hebb, Keith, Spanky & Our Gang, Jay & The Techniques, Dee Dee Warwick, Jerry Butler, The Temptations and the Supremes.

If that wasn’t enough, he introduced many incredible acts on Colossus Records, including Shocking Blue…so why isn’t he in some kind of Hall of Fame?

Artie Wayne

JERRY ROSS JUST DOESNT GET ENOUGH CREDIT FOR THE THINGS HE DID IN THE MUSIC WORLD, HE HAD SOME OF THE BEST EARS AND BEST INSTINCTS IN THE BUSINESS. HE FOUND GREAT ARTISTS, AND GREAT SONGS, AND EVEN SOME OF THE STUFF THAT DIDNT WIND UP IN THE TOP 10 WAS IMPRESSIVE: 2 OF MY FAVORITES WOULD BE, AND SUDDENLY, BY THE CHERRY PEOPLE AND  I DIG EVERYTHING ABOUT YOU, BY THE MOB, JUST 2 OF HIS GREAT TRACKS.

IM A BIG JERRY ROSS FAN!

SCOTT SHANNON

DEEJAY

TRUEOLDIESCHANNEL.COM

“Because of Jerry Ross, I still receive emails today from fans around the world of my group’s music.

Thank you Jerry for believing in the The MOB and getting us our first record success on the charts. Happy 50

Regards,

James Holvay

Dear Jerry,

Congratulations on your 50th Anniversary.

And here’s to fifty more.

We love ya,

Artie Kaplan

“Jerry Ross knows talent, is a talent, influenced many careers, and he demonstrated to many new-comers how it’s done.”

Joe Renzetti

Hi Artie,

Thanks for giving me the opportunity to say a “thank you” to Jerry Ross for the music he has given us during  his 50 years in the business. He was involved with many of my favorite records by the likes of Keith, Bill Deal & The Rhondels, the Dreamlovers, Dee Dee Warwick etc.

Here in Rhode Island we have another great celebrating his 50 years in the business; Peter Anders is performing in concert tomorrow (October 16). Peter with his then partner, Vinnie Poncia, wrote “You Gave Me Somebody To Love” with Jerry Ross, a song which Jerry worked on with the Dreamlovers and Jay & The Techniques. Anders and Poncia also wrote “Gonna Make Him My Baby”, which Jerry’s wife, April Young, recorded.

Going further back, you can even find Jerry Ross-Kenny Gamble songs recorded by Freddy Cannon; “Everybody Monkey” and “That’s The Way Girls Are” from 1963. It has been varied.

Keep the faith Jerry, Mike Edwards

Jerry Ross put me and my old partner on the road of knowing what a hit song is….And with this knowledge we both went on to having many charted records. Jerry is a gentleman and I want to say to him thanks for putting in the time to teach….Barry Oslander



I had a lot of fun working with Jerry and many interesting and successful songs and records came out of our relationship.
mark barkan

Jerry Ross produced so many great records that each time I think of a new
one I remember it as my favorite. Also, the more I learn of his career — of
the names of artists he worked with and records he produced — the more
impressed I become, as there’s scarcely a slouch in the bunch.

I don’t know that Jerry would view his career the same way I do, but from my
perspective it’s been one of moving from triumph to triumph with almost
unheard-of consistency. And so I extend him my deep gratitude, and my
sincere congratulations on a “colossus” of a career!

–Phil Milstein
JERRY PRODUCED A BEAUTIFUL RECORDING OF A SONG WE WROTE CALLED ‘MR DREAM MERCHANT’ THAT WAS BEAUTIFULLY SUNG BY THE ‘ICE MAN’ HIMSELF, THE GREAT JERRY BUTLER..

IF WE’RE AROUND, DO I GET AN ANNIVERSARY NOTE LIKE THIS? BEST WISHES..

LARRY WEISS


Wow – not only did he produce hit after hit in the ’60s and after (my faves:
The Dreamlovers’ “When We Get Married” and Spanky & Our Gang’s “Sunday…”),
but he had the “ears” and business sense to import talent like Shocking Blue
and The Tee Set. Congratulations on 50 big years (and, if I stopped to
count, at least as many big hits). May your ears never go out of tune, and
the hits just keep on comin’!

Country Paul Payton

I have known Jerry Ross since I began my career at MRC Music on West 57th Street and we were the co-publisher of “I’m Gonna Make You Love Me”…

Jerry was always and will always continue to be the perfect role model both for me and any aspiring young person who wants to succeed in the music industry…certainly we all know that the industry has changed since “Sunny,” but the one thing that has not changed are the disciples that Jerry Ross has always lived by…love people, live by the philosophy of helping somebody even though you know up front they can’t do anything for you in return, and just work your ass off to be one hell of a great music man and hope you know a hit song when you hear one!

Congratulations Jerry on a stellar career and the best is yet to come;  I promise!

Joel Diamond

Jerry Ross … where to begin? Well, he’s one of my favourite producers and songwriters, and a really great guy to boot. A few mates and I got to hang out with him for an afternoon a few years ago – a highlight of our trip to New Jersey , although he never did show us how to do “The 81”. Heck, if only for all those classy little records he made with the Sapphires – “Who Do You Love”, “Slow Fizz”, “Evil One”, “Gotta Have Your Love”, “Let’s Break Up For A While”, “I Found Out Too Late”, “Where Is Johnny Now”, etc – he’d be up there with the greats. But things got even better when Mercury Records bagged him to work with Dee Dee Warwick and Jerry Butler. I’d like to congratulate him on 50 years in the business.

MICK PATRICK – SPECTROPOP

PS: Check out Artie Wayne’s in-depth interview with Jerry at spectropop.com: http://www.spectropop.com/JerryRoss


When I asked Jerry How he felt about his 50th Anniversary in the music business he said,

I owe the  extraordinary  journey to my goals and body of work  to the remarkable and special people in my life who were  my collaborators !!!!
The songwriters/ my Artists/ my arrangers/ the musicians/ my background singers/ the audio engineers/ the promo men  /the marketing teams/ my wife April, and the Radio deejays and media programmers, all, who with their support  and collaboration  respectfully made it all happen …    You know who you are !!!!
I am so grateful …I can’t thank you enough. !!!!

I enjoyed the journey
“ The greatest risk is not taking one ”

Jerry Ross http://www.myspace.com/producerjerryross

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/profile.php?id=661334839

 

photo at top Dick Clark and Jerry Ross

 

Copyright 2010 by Artie Wayne https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/about-artie-wayne/

10 Responses to “CONGRATULATIONS TO JERRY ROSS ON 50 YEARS IN THE MUSIC BUSINESS!”

  1. Ira Howard Says:

    Not only is Jerry a wonderful talent he’s an equally wonderful person. (Many)years ago he and April had dinner at our apartment and from that moment on he was “family.” Congratulations to my younger friend on his “50th”

    Ira Howard

  2. Gary Theroux Says:

    Jerry has found or produced some of my all-time favorites, from the one he discovered on a jukebox in Holland (“Venus” by The Shocking Blue) to the great Jay & the Techniques hits (I especially like “Keep The Ball Rollin'”) and the superb Bill Deal singles (“What Kind Of Fool,” “May I,” “I’ve Been Hurt,” “Nothing Succeeds Like Success,” etc.) The latter came out while I was in college and the chorus was a key motivator for me to succeed. (I though, was willing to make room in my canoe for two so the rest of the lyrics, while catchy, did not apply.) Regardless, as the campus radio station program director, I featured a lot of Jerry’s releases, such as The Mob’s “I Dig Everything About You.” Happy 50th, Jerry. You’ve enhanced a lot of lives.

  3. Seth Greenky Says:

    “Jerry stood up for me. Around 1971 I was a young producer/manager and had discovered a group (I won’t use their name here) in a Jersey City Bar. They were uniquely good with 5 part harmony, played their own instruments, and were reminiscent of The Eagles or CSNY. I made a handshake management/producer agreement with them. I brought them to Jerry and he agreed to let me produce and he would exec-produce. We made a great demo at Bell Sound that Jerry paid for. The group then tried to screw me and work around me. Jerry told them to fuck off. He wouldn’t tolerate that behavior. The stupid, greedy jerks, who could have had a major hit record and career (Jerry was at his peak) never got out of playing in bars after that. They destroyed what could have been their big break, and possibly mine, too. I really appreciated Jerry’s integrity. I haven’t seen Jerry since way back. If you are in touch with him, tell him I still remember and appreciate his not letting them get away with it although he could have easily turned his back on me and continued with them. I have always regarded him as a mensch for that and have used that as an example of how I’ve conducted business for the last 40 years. Also, ever since then, I’ve only worked with clients who have signed contracts. LOL. Sadly, I’ve found that people still try to get out of a signed contract when they start to make money. But, I’m still thankful to Jerry. I also still have the demo. :-)”

    Seth Greenky

  4. Ronnie Allen Says:

    Jerry is truly one of the unsung heroes of pop music. I had the pleasure of interviewing him briefly by phone while working for Casey Kasem and “American Top Forty” around the time of the “Dutch invasion.” I wish Jerry many many more years of good health, happiness and success.

  5. Russ Regan Says:

    A great music man!! And a good guy!!

    Russ Regan

  6. Freddy Cannon Says:

    JERRY, HAVE A GREAT 50TH ANNIVERSARY THANKS FOR WRITING GREAT SONGS!
    YOUR ROCK AND ROLL FRIEND

    FREDDY BOOM BOOM CANNON

  7. Trade Martin Says:

    Artie, it’s great that you’re having everyone celebrate Jerry’s 50th anniversary on your site. He was always a pleasure to work with in the studio. Being consistently friendly and complimentary to all his personnel…., besides his enormous talent, he possessed the proper demeanor to get the most out of his studio musicians. We all enjoyed working for him. God bless you Jerry & happy 50 successful years in the recording industry. Warmest regards, Trade.


  8. My very best wishes and congratulations to Jerry on 50 years. Having 50 minutes in the business today is a feat, 50 years is astounding! All the best.
    Michael

  9. Nick Archer Says:

    Jerry,

    Thanks for the many hours of enjoyment that I’ve had listening to your music.

    Nick Archer
    Franklin, TN

  10. Warren Schatz Says:

    I was honored to have worked with Jerry a number of times while I was an engineer at Associated Recording. He not only has golden ears, but he’s always does everything with class and humility. He’s truly one of the great people in the world. Jerry has made a true diffence in the lives of people that both he and his music have touched. Such a joy to have spent such great times with him.

    Always,
    Warren Schatz


Leave a Reply

