The Story Behind Lou Reizners “All This And World War Two”

July 9, 2006

When my late partner Lou Reizner, the man who discovered and
produced such diverse artists as the Singing Nun and Rod
Stewart, developed a taste for larger than life productions,
there was no going back. Still riding the success of his
stellar recording of the Rock opera “Tommy” that he produced
with a cast that included Roger Daltry, Elton John, Tina
Turner, as well as the London Symphony orchestra… Lou was
determined his next project would be as spectacular!

Lou was larger than life himself. At 6’4″ he looked more like
an action hero than the transplanted American who once ran
Mercury Records International in London. I remember one time
when I was staying with Lou and his wife Pam in Knightsbridge,
he sat me down in a futuristic cocoon like chair, with a
built-in stereo speakers and proceeded to play me a dozen or
so tracks he just produced on the Bee Gees. Robert Stigwood
had hired him to be the musical director of his soon to be
produced film, “Sergeant Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band”
and these incredible recordings of John Lennon and Paul
McCartney songs were to be part of the sound track.

Several months later, when Lou was staying with me in
Hollywood, the project had developed into something else. It
seems that Robert Stigwood and Lou couldn’t make a deal, and
Stigwood gave the rights to the tracks back to Lou, including
3 performances by the Bee Gees as some kind of settlement.
Our lawyer and manager, Marty Machat, Russ Regan, who was
head of 20th Century records, and Lou got together and came
up with the idea of putting some of the biggest stars of the
day over the cuts and use it over WW2 newsreel footage from
20th Century Foxs’ vast archives. Talk about larger than life
…”All This And World War Two”!!!

The next few months were quite exciting, Lou was going back
and forth to London, putting Brian Ferry on “She’s Leaving
Home”, Leo Sayer on, “The Long and Winding Road”, then coming
back to Hollywood to work with Bob Gaudio, and Frankie Valli
on “A Day in the Life”. I recruited my friend, Helen Reddy,
to do “Fool On The Hill”. Elton John gave his friend, Russ
Regan, the man who discovered and signed him to UNI, the
rights to use his number one record “Lucy In The Sky With
Diamonds”. Russ also got 20th Century artists, Ambrosia,
[“Biggest Part Of Me”], to record “Magical Mystery Tour”.
While Lou was in London, I was at Cherokee studios in Hollywood
watching Rod Stewart put his classic vocal on “Get Back”, that
became number one in the U.K. I’m sad to say that the reggae
version I did of “Give Peace A Chance”, that I did with Art
Munson and Joe Klein, plays over the film credits but was
recorded too late for the album.

I’ve always believed that Lou Reizner’s, “All This And World
War Two” was ahead of it’s time. The new Hip-O records double
CD Re-issue is excellent. How many CDs have you bought
recently that you can sing along to almost every song?
Hopefully the DVD of the Film can’t be far behind.

Here’s the complete track list:

1-Magical Mystery Tour – Ambrosia
2-Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds – Elton John
3-Golden Slumbers/Carry That Weight – The Bee Gees
4-I Am The Walrus – Leo Sayer
5-She’s Leaving Home – Bryan Ferry
6-Lovely Rita – Roy Wood
7-When I’m 64 – Keith Moon
8-Get Back – Rod Stewart
9-Let It Be – Leo Sayer
10-Yesterday – David Essex
11-With A Little Help From My Friends/Nowhere Man – Jeff Lynne
12-Because – Lynsey De Paul
13-She Cam In Through The Bathroom Window – The Bee Gees
14-Michelle – Richard Cocciante
15-We Can Work It Out – The Four Seasons
16-The Fool On The Hill – Helen Reddy
17-Maxwell’s Silver Hammer – Frankie Laine
18-Hey Jude – The Brothers Johnson
19-Polythene Pam – Roy Wood
20-Sun King – The Bee Gees
21-Getting Better – Status Quo
22-The Long And Winding Road – Leo Sayer
23-Help – Henry Gross
24-Strawberry Fields Forever – Peter Gabriel
25-A Day In The Life – Frankie Valli
26-Come Together – Tina Turner
27-You Never Give Me Your Money – Wil Malone & Lou Reizner
28-The End – The London Symphony Orchestra

For more information… Go to Hip-O records at
http://hiposelect.com

15 Responses to “The Story Behind Lou Reizners “All This And World War Two””

  1. DeeAnne Mason Says:

    I have a copy of this on record album, but was wondering if I can get a copy on CD or DVD? I love it and think it is a beautiful tribute to the phenomenal talent of the Beatles.

    If you know where I can get this on CD or DVD send me in that direction.
    Thanks,
    DeeAnne

  2. damian fernie Says:

    this film is a suppressed cult movie i want it and i want it now it is my all time favourite war movie and moves me to tears every time i watch it . It also makes me appreciate the huge sacrifice previous generations gave to ensure fair play and freedom and how the successive governments have errode our freedoms to take full controle once more hence all the troubles in the world too few mindless people making all the choices

  3. Max collingbourne Says:

    My mother is Claudia Reizner and she’d like to contact you! whats the best way to find you?

  4. ageing60hippy Says:

    At last, after some 35 years, I’m not alone in owning this double LP master piece.

    For all this time, since I bought it in 1976 on Riva records here in England, I’m now so happy to find others who like it too!

    I only came to the internet to find out more about Lou’s orchestral version of the Who’s “Tommy” and, low & behold I find this site.

    My life is now complete!

  5. Bogus Name Says:

    I have the soundtrack album; it is excellent. However, Rod Stewart’s rendition of “Get Back” only made it to number 11 in the UK singles chart, not number 1 as stated.

    Regards,
    Bogus

  6. Claudia Collingbourne Says:

    Hi Artie

    Claudia Reizner here…..! Please contact me on Facebook (Claudia Colloingbourne now) as Pamela and I would love to hear from you

  7. Paul Keenan Says:

    As a junior reporter on a local newspaper in the UK in 1976, I was fortunate enough to interview Lou; he was fantastic and spent a long time talking with me. Somewhere I still have the photos taken with him on the day – and a copy of the album he gave me.


  8. Hi, yes this piece of writing is truly pleasant and I have learned lot of things from it regarding blogging.

    thanks.


  9. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just
    preparing to do some research about this. We got a grab a book from our
    area library but I think I learned more from this post.

    I am very glad to see such great info being shared freely out there.

  10. Steven Says:

    I simply couldn’t leave your site prior to suggesting that I really enjoyed the standard info a person supply on your visitors? Is gonna be again steadily to inspect new posts


  11. Today, while I was at work, my cousin stole my
    iphone and tested to see if it can survive a twenty
    five foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know
    this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!


  12. I do not even understand how I ended up here, however I assumed this post was once
    good. I do not know who you might be however definitely
    you’re going to a famous blogger when you are not already đŸ˜‰ Cheers!

  13. Lily Says:

    Well I sincerely liked studying it. This information offered
    by you is very practical for correct planning.

  14. Vaughn Says:

    It is truly a nice and helpful piece of information.

    I’m satisfied that you shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  15. Corey Benjamin Says:

    I’m wrapped in a mystery and hoping that all these years later, someone here or someone visiting can help.

    I’m trying to source the origin of the signed movie poster featuring many of the musical acts featured in All This And World War II that’s featured here: https://auctions.posterauctions.com/lots/view/1-1LU1YE/all-this-and-world-war-ii-1976

    When or where would all of these amazing musicians have been in proximity to one another to have completed this signing? I’m the owner of the piece currently, but it did not come with provenance and I’ve reached out to just about anyone who is still living that may even have a semblance of connection back to the movie to try to sleuth an origin.


Leave a comment