NEW REV-OLA COMPILATION CD BY PATTI DAHLSTROM!

March 22, 2010

Before there was an Eva Cassidy, before there was a Selena, or Leona Lewis there was Patti Dahlstrom!

 

When my friend singer/songwriter Patti Dahlstrom, moved to London two years ago to get her masters at London University, I introduced her to some people I knew. You can imagine how good I felt when Mick Patrick of Rev-Ola records wanted to put out a compilation CD of her four US albums.

 

Patti is one of the most talented singer songwriters I ever worked with and when I was General Professional Manager at Warner Brothers music in the ‘70s, I gave her a French song “Amorouse” (Sanson), to write an English lyric to. When Patti recorded and released it as “Emotion” (Sanson/Dahlstrom) every body thought it sounded like a hit! http:artiewayne.com/emotion.html

 

Unfortunately, “Emotion” wasn’t a hit for Patti, but less than a year later, Helen Reddy covered it and took it to the Top Twenty. Patti’s CD has some real undiscovered gems like,”He Did Me Wrong, But He Did Me Right” which could be a hit for Sade, who’s back on the charts. “Letting Go”, and “Cleveland Snow” are also standouts.

 

I’m especially proud to be included in this collection with a song I wrote with Patti for our friend the Late Jim Croce the night his plane crashed. Here’s a video Patti and Wedigo Watson just created for “Sending My Good Thoughts To You.”

FOR MORE STORIES, PICTURES AND MUSIC CHECK OUT PATTI DAHLSTROM’S WEBSITE http://www.pattidahlstrom.com/

Copyright 2010 by Artie Wayne https://artiewayne.wordpress.com/about-artie-wayne/

BACK TO ARTIE WAYNE ON THE WEB https://artiewayne.wordpress.com

10 Responses to “NEW REV-OLA COMPILATION CD BY PATTI DAHLSTROM!”

  1. whiteray Says:

    It is a superb compilation, Artie. My copy got here Friday, and I haven’t taken it out of the CD player since.

  2. Wedigo Says:

    Artie, thanks for the nice acknowledgment. It was fun putting the video together, and your input was much appreciated also. So glad that Patti will be getting a whole new legion of fans via this great compilation.

  3. Patti Says:

    Thank you, Artie, for this wonderful piece. To all those we love, the ones who have gone on and the ones who remain, we’re sending our good thoughts to you.
    Patti

  4. Gordon Shaffer Says:

    Just ordered my copy from Amazon…I’m especially pleased that a whole new generation will have the pleasure of experiencing Patti’s music! She is one-of-a-kind, and so are you, Artie! Thank You!!

  5. Michelle Says:

    Hello Artie,
    I have posted before, but just in case you did not see that post here is another one….

    Patti was my teacher at The Art Institute of Houston. She always had a kind spirit. She may not remember me, it has been several years, but I have wonderful memories of her. I am glad to know that she is doing well.

    I will pick up a copy of her new album soon!

    Take care!

    Michelle

  6. Stephen Oran Says:

    Patti was also my teacher at The Art Institute of Houston as well. She was one of my favorite teachers! She was always encouraging us and I learned a lot from her! Good to hear she’s doing well!!

    Stephen Oran

    • Jawbreaker Says:

      Thanks so much for the music of patti. She is so awesomeit is also great to hear the stories and live of jim croce.keep up the great work the musiic is one pf a kind.

  7. Jeff Curley Says:

    As a a teen, I grew up listening to Patti’s albums. HUGE fan, after all these years. Still some of the best music ever.

  8. Martin Pardys Says:

    Can you please tell me the songs Patti wrote about Jim Croce?


Leave a comment